Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

High School Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils
Newark, NJ – The New Jersey Devils hosted the inaugural New Jersey High School Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony/Dinner at Prudential Center on Sunday, March 28.   Former Devils’ defenseman Bruce Driver served as master of ceremonies.

The Hall of Fame Committee honored the following players:  goaltender Alex Westlund (Chatham/Lawrenceville);  defensemen Mike Acosta (Toms River North), Ned Crotty (Delbarton School), and Derek Maguire (Delbarton School);  and forwards Randy Deresky (Morris Hills), Jim Dowd (Brick Township), Peter Herms (Seton Hall Prep), Max Middendorf (Ramapo/St. Joseph of Montville), and Joe Tracy (Livingston).  Dowd played six seasons with the Devils’ organization, and was a member of its 1995 Stanley Cup Championship team.

“The New Jersey Devils are delighted to host the New Jersey High School Hall of Fame Ceremony, especially to honor one of our own – Jim Dowd,” said Devils’ Chairman/Managing Partner Jeff Vanderbeek.  “High school hockey in New Jersey has a very rich tradition that we see first-hand when schools come to Prudential Center to play for a state championship.”

Inducted coaches were:  Bob Auriemma (Brick Township), Harvey Cohen (Chatham), and John Warchol (Seton Hall Prep).  Contributors:  Tony Del Tufo, Msgr. Michael Kelly, and Paul McInnis.  Teams:  Brick Township (1975-76), Montclair (1987-88), and Christian Brothers Academy (1995-96).

The committee consists of:  Rick Bliwise, Paul Bruno, Harvey Cohen, Tony Del Tufo, Mike Giampapa, Ben Leuzzi, John Magadini, Paul McInnis, Bruce Parker, Tom Pengitore, Bob Smith, and John Warchol.
View More