Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Field set for 2010 MasterCard Memorial Cup

by Eric Marin / New Jersey Devils
Henrique in the 2010 World Jr. tournament.
The field is set for the 2010 MasterCard Memorial Cup.

This year's tournament will feature the Windsor Spitfires (OHL), Moncton Wildcats (QMJHL), Calgary Hitmen (WHL) and Brandon Wheat Kings (WHL).

Moncton secured the final Memorial Cup berth on Monday, beating the Saint John Sea Dogs, 7-4, to win the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League championship in six games. Calgary claimed the Western Hockey League crown in five games, beating out the Tri-City Americans on Friday.

Windsor won its second straight Ontario Hockey League title on May 4 with a sweep of the Barrie Colts. The Spitfires will be looking to defend their 2009 Memorial Cup championship.

The four-team tourney, which features the three major junior champions, plus the team from the host city, gets underway Friday in Brandon, Manitoba.

Three Devils prospects will be taking part: forward Adam Henrique (4th choice, 82nd overall in 2008) and defenseman Harry Young (8th, 202nd in 2008) of the Spitfires, and defenseman Alexander Urbom (3rd, 73rd in 2009) of the host Wheat Kings.

Henrique, 20, notched 20 playoff goals to tie for the OHL lead, and was named the winner of the Wayne Gretzky 99 Trophy awarded to the OHL's postseason MVP.

Young, 20, served as captain for Windsor's back-to-back OHL titles. Urbom, 19, led all WHL rookie defensemen with four playoff goals.

View More