Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Brodeur and Daneyko relive the 2000 Cup

by Eric Marin / New Jersey Devils

Brodeur and Daneyko with Dan Moriarty of the NHL Network during Monday's taping. – Martin Brodeur and Ken Daneyko recently took a trip down memory lane, and soon Devils fans will be able to follow.

Brodeur and Daneyko won three Stanley Cups together and recently taped an episode of "Relive the Magic."
See gallery
The defensive duo joined Dan Moriarty of the NHL Network Monday at Prudential Center for "Relive the Magic," a show that gives players a chance to re-watch broadcasts of classic Stanley Cup games.

Sitting back in one of the arena's lounges, Moriarty cued up Game 6 of the 2000 Stanley Cup Finals between the Devils and the Dallas Stars, while Brodeur and Daneyko provided commentary on the decisive contest.

Fans can find out what they had to say when the show airs this fall on the NHL Network.

After missing a chance to close out the Stars in Game 5 at the Meadowlands, the Devils had to travel back to the Lone Star State for what became a double-overtime date with destiny at Reunion Arena.

Jason Arnott's goal at 8:20 of the second OT lifted New Jersey to a 2-1 victory over Dallas and its second title in six seasons.

Brodeur, who was named the game's First Star, posted a 16-7 mark in 23 starts during the 2000 postseason, including two shutouts and a league-best 1.61 goals-against average.

Among the highlights of the 60-minute show are Brodeur and Daneyko discussing then head coach Larry Robinson's speech during the 2000 Eastern Conference Finals that helped to fuel the Devils' recovery from a 3-1 series deficit against Philadelphia.

Brodeur also shares one of Daneyko's strategies for victory that season: keeping the team loose. Late in close games, Brodeur explained, Daneyko would skate by the Devils' crease and say, "Marty, it's up to you and me."

Brodeur and Daneyko are two of five players to have won three Stanley Cups with New Jersey. Sergei Brylin, Scott Niedermayer and Scott Stevens also hoisted the Cup all three times.

View More