Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes

Rosters for World Cup of Hockey 2016 Completed

by Staff Writer / Arizona Coyotes


Friday, May 27, 2016

TORONTO – All eight teams announced today their final, 23-man rosters for the World Cup of Hockey 2016, the best-on-best international hockey championship that will be held Sept. 17 – Oct. 1 at Air Canada Centre in Toronto.

Each of the eight teams – Team Canada, Team Czech Republic, Team Europe, Team Finland, Team North America, Team Russia, Team Sweden and Team USA – added seven players today, joining the 16 selected to the respective teams on March 2. A total of 173 of the 184 selections are NHL players, plus two others -- Team North America forward Auston Matthews and Team Finland forward Patrik Laine -- who are projected to be early first-round selections in the 2016 NHL Draft.

The Tampa Bay Lightning and Chicago Blackhawks lead all NHL teams with 12 selections apiece. The Boston Bruins, Detroit Red Wings, Philadelphia Flyers and Washington Capitals follow with eight each.

The World Cup of Hockey 2016 is a joint effort of the National Hockey League and National Hockey League Players’ Association, in cooperation with the International Ice Hockey Federation. Live coverage of all tournament games will be provided by Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada and ESPN in the United States. A complete broadcast schedule will be announced at a later date.

For more information on the World Cup of Hockey 2016, visit


Anaheim Ducks (6): F Ryan Getzlaf (Team Canada); G Frederik Andersen (Team Europe); D Sami Vatanen (Team Finland); G John Gibson (Team North America); F Jakob Silfverberg (Team Sweden); F Ryan Kesler (Team USA).

Arizona Coyotes (4): F Martin Hanzal and D Zbynek Michalek (Team Czech Republic); F Tobias Rieder (Team Europe); D Oliver Ekman-Larsson (Team Sweden).

Boston Bruins (8): F Patrice Bergeron and F Brad Marchand (Team Canada); F David Krejci and F David Pastrnak (Team Czech Republic); D Zdeno Chara and D Dennis Seidenberg (Team Europe); G Tuukka Rask (Team Finland); F Loui Eriksson (Team Sweden).

Buffalo Sabres (3): D Rasmus Ristolainen (Team Finland); F Jack Eichel (Team North America); G Robin Lehner (Team Sweden).

Calgary Flames (5): F Michael Frolik and D Jakub Nakladal (Team Czech Republic); D Jyrki Jokipakka (Team Finland); F Johnny Gaudreau and F Sean Monahan (Team North America).

Carolina Hurricanes (1): D Michal Jordan (Team Czech Republic).

Chicago Blackhawks (12): G Corey Crawford, D Duncan Keith and F Jonathan Toews (Team Canada); D Michal Kempny (Team Czech Republic); D Christian Ehrhoff and F Marian Hossa (Team Europe); F Teuvo Teravainen (Team Finland); F Artem Anisimov and F Artemi Panarin (Team Russia); D Niklas Hjalmarsson and F Marcus Kruger (Team Sweden); F Patrick Kane (Team USA).

Colorado Avalanche (7): F Matt Duchene (Team Canada); F Mikkel Boedker (Team Europe); F Nathan MacKinnon (Team North America); G Semyon Varlamov (Team Russia); F Gabriel Landeskog and F Carl Soderberg (Team Sweden); D Erik Johnson (Team USA).

Columbus Blue Jackets (6): D Seth Jones, D Ryan Murray and F Brandon Saad (Team North America); G Sergei Bobrovsky (Team Russia); F Brandon Dubinsky and D Jack Johnson (Team USA).

Dallas Stars (5): F Jamie Benn and F Tyler Seguin (Team Canada); F Radek Faksa and F Ales Hemsky (Team Czech Republic); D Esa Lindell (Team Finland).

Detroit Red Wings (8): G Petr Mrazek (Team Czech Republic); F Tomas Tatar (Team Europe); F Dylan Larkin (Team North America); F Pavel Datsyuk and D Alexey Marchenko (Team Russia); D Niklas Kronwall and F Henrik Zetterberg (Team Sweden); F Justin Abdelkader (Team USA).

Edmonton Oilers (5): F Leon Draisaitl and D Andrej Sekera (Team Europe); F Lauri Korpikoski (Team Finland); F Connor McDavid and F Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Team North America).

Florida Panthers (4): F Aleksander Barkov and F Jussi Jokinen (Team Finland); D Aaron Ekblad (Team North America); D Dmitry Kulikov (Team Russia).

Los Angeles Kings (6): F Jeff Carter, D Drew Doughty and D Jake Muzzin (Team Canada); F Marian Gaborik and F Anze Kopitar (Team Europe); G Jonathan Quick (Team USA).

Minnesota Wild (7): F Nino Niederreiter and F Thomas Vanek (Team Europe); F Mikael Granlund, F Erik Haula and F Mikko Koivu (Team Finland); D Ryan Suter and F Zach Parise (Team USA).

Montreal Canadiens (5): G Carey Price (Team Canada); F Tomas Plekanec (Team Czech Republic); D Alexei Emelin and D Andrei Markov (Team Russia); F Max Pacioretty (Team USA).

Nashville Predators (5): D Shea Weber (Team Canada); D Roman Josi (Team Europe); G Pekka Rinne (Team Finland); D Mattias Ekholm and F Filip Forsberg (Team Sweden).

New Jersey Devils (1): G Cory Schneider (Team USA).

New York Islanders (5): F John Tavares (Team Canada); G Thomas Greiss, G Jaroslav Halak and F Frans Nielsen (Team Europe); F Nikolay Kulemin (Team Russia).

New York Rangers (5): F Mats Zuccarello (Team Europe); F J.T. Miller (Team North America); G Henrik Lundqvist (Team Sweden); D Ryan McDonagh and F Derek Stepan (Team USA).

Ottawa Senators (1): D Erik Karlsson (Team Sweden).

Philadelphia Flyers (8): F Claude Giroux (Team Canada); D Radko Gudas, G Michal Neuvirth and F Jakub Voracek (Team Czech Republic); F Pierre-Edouard Bellemare and D Mark Streit (Team Europe); F Sean Couturier and D Shayne Gostisbehere (Team North America).

Pittsburgh Penguins (6): F Sidney Crosby (Team Canada); D Olli Maatta (Team Finland); G Matt Murray (Team North America); F Evgeni Malkin (Team Russia); F Carl Hagelin and F Patric Hornqvist (Team Sweden).

San Jose Sharks (7): D Brent Burns, D Marc-Edouard Vlasic and F Joe Thornton (Team Canada); F Tomas Hertl and D Roman Polak (Team Czech Republic); F Joonas Donskoi (Team Finland); F Joe Pavelski (Team USA).

St. Louis Blues (7): D Alex Pietrangelo (Team Canada); F Dmitrij Jaskin (Team Czech Republic); F Jori Lehtera (Team Finland); D Colton Parayko (Team North America); F Vladimir Tarasenko (Team Russia); F Alexander Steen (Team Sweden); F David Backes (Team USA).

Tampa Bay Lightning (12): F Steven Stamkos (Team Canada); F Ondrej Palat and D Andrej Sustr (Team Czech Republic); F Valtteri Filppula (Team Finland); F Jonathan Drouin (Team North America); F Nikita Kucherov, F Vladislav Namestnikov and G Andrei Vasilevskiy (Team Russia); D Victor Hedman and D Anton Stralman (Team Sweden); G Ben Bishop and F Ryan Callahan (Team USA).

Toronto Maple Leafs (5): F Milan Michalek (Team Czech Republic); F Leo Komarov (Team Finland); D Morgan Rielly (Team North America); D Nikita Zaitsev (Team Russia); F James van Riemsdyk (Team USA).

Vancouver Canucks (5): F Jannik Hansen and D Luca Sbisa (Team Europe); G Jacob Markstrom, F Daniel Sedin and F Henrik Sedin (Team Sweden).

Washington Capitals (8): G Braden Holtby (Team Canada); F Evgeny Kuznetsov, D Dmitry Orlov and F Alex Ovechkin (Team Russia); F Nicklas Backstrom (Team Sweden); D John Carlson, D Matt Niskanen and F T.J. Oshie (Team USA).

Winnipeg Jets (6): G Ondrej Pavelec (Team Czech Republic); G Connor Hellebuyck, F Mark Scheifele and D Jacob Trouba (Team North America); D Dustin Byfuglien and F Blake Wheeler (Team USA).

View More