Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Capitals Announce 2006-07 Regular-Season Schedule

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals
Washington, D.C. –  The Washington Capitals’ 82-game regular-season schedule for 2006-07 begins on Thursday, Oct. 5, at the New York Rangers, with the home opener set for Saturday, Oct. 7, against the defending Stanley Cup champion Carolina Hurricanes at the Verizon Center.

Like the 2005-06 season, the Capitals will face the other teams in the Southeast Division eight times each and other Eastern Conference opponents four times each. Washington will host the five teams in the Pacific Division – the Anaheim Ducks, Dallas Stars, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes and San Jose Sharks – for one game each while paying a visit to each of the teams in the Northwest Division.
More than half of the Capitals’ 41 home games at Verizon Center fall on weekends, including 12 Saturday games, seven Friday games and three Sunday games. The schedule features holiday home games on the day before and after Thanksgiving (Nov. 22 against Atlanta, Nov. 24 against Toronto) and New Year’s Day (Phoenix) as well as an early afternoon game on Super Bowl Sunday (New York Islanders).
Washington’s schedule includes four separate four-game homestands: Nov. 30-Dec. 8, Jan. 1-9, Feb. 4-10 and Feb. 25-March 3. The team’s longest road trips of the season are four games each, from Oct. 25-30 and Jan. 11-18. The Capitals will play 19 sets of games on consecutive days during the course of the season and will not play outside of the Eastern time zone after Oct. 30.

Click Here For Full 2006-07 Regular-Season Schedule

All times Eastern

View More