Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

Alex Ovechkin, Mike Green Named to NHL First All-Star Team

by Staff Writer / Washington Capitals
ARLINGTON, Va. - Washington Capitals captain and left wing Alex Ovechkin and defenseman Mike Green were both named to the NHL First All-Star Team tonight at the 2010 NHL Awards in Las Vegas. The selections are the fifth in a row for Ovechkin and second for Green, making them the first teammates to repeat on the first team since Wayne Gretzky and Paul Coffey of the Edmonton Oilers in 1985 and '86. Ovechkin is the first player in league history to be named to the NHL First All-Star Team in each of his first five seasons in the league.

Ovechkin led the NHL in points per game (1.51) and goals per game (0.69). He finished tied for second in the NHL in points (109) and was one shy of the league lead in goals (50) despite missing 10 games. He led all NHL forwards and was second in the league in plus/minus rating (+45), trailing only teammate Jeff Schultz. Ovechkin led the league in shots (368) and even-strength goals (37).

Named captain Jan. 5, Ovechkin led the Capitals to a 30-4-7 record from that point on as Washington captured its first Presidents' Trophy for the best record in the league. The Capitals became just the fourth franchise in NHL history to post a 120-point season, finishing 54-15-13 (121 points) and winning a third consecutive Southeast Division title.

Green led all NHL defensemen in goals (19), assists (57) and points (76) in 75 games this season. His +39 rating was second among NHL defenseman - trailing only defense partner Jeff Schultz - and he had at least a point in 56 of 75 games.

One of three active defenseman with a 70-point season, Green is just the seventh defenseman in NHL history to post consecutive 70-point seasons before turning 25. He posted three point streaks of at least eight games during the season - no other NHL defenseman had one - and led the league's defensemen with 35 power-play points (10 goals, 25 assists).

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association vote on the NHL All-Star Teams at the conclusion of each season.
View More