Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Silver Skate Awards 2010

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

On June 26th at the Civic Centre in beautiful Prince George, British Columbia, the Vancouver Canucks handed out their Silver Skate awards during BC Hockey’s Annual General Meeting for the fifth consecutive year since its 2005 inauguration. 

Working closely with BC Hockey, the Silver Skate Award is awarded to minor hockey teams or associations that demonstrate teamwork, perseverance and hard work throughout the season. This year there were 24 minor hockey and Jr. Level award winners with some notable recipients being Victoria in the Pee Wee Female Division, Castlegar in the Bantam Tier 3 Division, and Kelowna in the Midget Tier 1 Division.

This year Vancouver Canucks alumnus Dave Babych was on hand to present to the deserving award winners. For the first time the Silver Skate awards were handed out during the BC Hockey AGM luncheon which gave everyone in attendance a chance to see all of this year’s silver skate award winners. BC Hockey also handed out the following awards:

BC Hockey Safety Award – James Niezen

Development Award Coaching – Shane Hohlweg

Development Award Officiating – Mike Fraser

Great representation of the winning teams provided for another successful event. Special thanks to the BC hockey staff who helped coordinate the ceremony.

For more information on this and other programs offered by the Canucks Centre for BC Hockey and BC Hockey visit or call the Canucks Centre for BC Hockey @ 604 899 7770.

View More