Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks' trio win NHL trophies

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks

Three members of the Vancouver Canucks, who helped their club capture the Presidents' Trophy for posting the NHL's best record, have added individual awards as the 2010-11 regular-season schedule concluded today.

Left wing Daniel Sedin won his first career Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring leader, while Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider earned the William Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the club allowing the fewest goals.

Anaheim Ducks right wing Corey Perry, a potential Hart Trophy finalist, joined the Canucks' trio as an award winner, capturing the Maurice Richard Trophy as the League's goal-scoring leader.

The four trophy winners will be honored at the 2011 NHL Awards, to be held in Las Vegas on Wednesday, June 22.

Sedin kept the Art Ross Trophy in the family by finishing the season with a League-leading and career-high 104 points (41 goals, 63 assists). With twin brother Henrik claiming the award in 2009-10, this marks the first time in League history that brothers have won scoring titles in consecutive seasons. Daniel sparked the League's top-ranked power-play unit by tallying a League-leading 18 goals and 42 points with the man advantage. He also tied for second place among NHL forwards in plus-minus (plus-30).

Daniel becomes the 10th player in the past 10 seasons to capture the Art Ross, joining Jaromir Jagr in 2001, Jarome Iginla in 2002, Peter Forsberg in 2003, Martin St. Louis in 2004, Joe Thornton in 2006, Sidney Crosby in 2007, Alex Ovechkin in 2008, Evgeni Malkin in 2009 and Henrik last season.

Perry won his first career Maurice Richard Trophy with a late surge of 19 goals in his final 16 games that raised his season total to 50 and helped launch the Ducks from 11th place in the Western Conference to a season-ending fourth. Perry became the third player in franchise history to reach the 50-goal mark, joining Paul Kariya in 1995-96 (50) and Teemu Selanne in 1996-97 and 1997-98 (51, 52). He shared the League lead in game-winning goals with Washington's Alex Ovechkin (11), tied for fifth place in power-play goals (14), shared fifth in shorthanded tallies (four) and led all players with 21 third-period goals. Twenty-five of his goals tied the score or put the Ducks ahead.

Luongo captured his first Jennings Trophy as the Canucks allowed the fewest goals in the NHL (185) for the first time in franchise history. The 32-year-old Montreal native went 38-15-7 in 60 appearances, posting the best goals-against average in his 11-year NHL career (2.11) and his top save percentage since joining the Canucks in 2006-07 (.928). He tied for the League lead in victories, ranked second in goals-against average and fourth in save percentage. Among his season highlights was a streak of 21 decisions without a loss, going 16-0-5 from Dec. 8 through Feb. 12.

Schneider excelled in relief of Luongo in his first full NHL season after a three-year apprenticeship with Manitoba of the American Hockey League. The Canucks' first pick (No. 24) in the 2004 Entry Draft posted a 16-4-2 record in 25 appearances, highlighted by a franchise record-tying 10-game undefeated streak (8-0-2) in his first 10 decisions of the season. He ranked third among NHL goaltenders in save percentage (.929) and was fourth in goals-against average (2.23).

View More