Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks Report: Henrik wins Hart, Kesler runner up for Selke

by Staff Writer / Vancouver Canucks
June 23, 2010



It was a season to remember for Henrik Sedin, and Wednesday night was a fitting way to cap it off as he took home the Hart Memorial Trophy as league MVP.

“It’s a surreal feeling right now,” said Henrik, who was also presented with the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL’s leading scorer Wednesday. “I don’t know what to say. It’s a great honour and there are plenty of people to thank, first of all my teammates. Without them I wouldn’t be here right now.”

Sedin is the first player in the 40-year history of the Vancouver Canucks to win the Hart Trophy, awarded "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team" as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Sedin garnered 46 first-place votes among the 133 ballots cast and accumulated 894 points to edge the two-time defending Hart Trophy winner Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals, who was the top selection on 40 ballots and earned 834 points.

“It hasn’t really sunk in yet,” said Henrik. “Just to be here with Sidney and Alex is a great honour.”

Sedin flourished in 2009-10 despite having to play 19 games without his twin brother and career-long linemate Daniel, who missed a large chunk of the season with a broken foot. With 112 points – 30 more than his previous career-high – Henrik became the first player in franchise history to win the Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring champion.

Sedin easily led the League with 83 assists, 14 more than runner-up Joe Thornton of San Jose. Five of Sedin’s career-high 29 goals were game-winners. With a plus-35 rating, Henrik Sedin has been a plus player in every one of his nine NHL seasons with the exception of his minus-2 rookie year.

The Ornskoldsvik, Sweden native set three new franchise records in 2009-10: becoming the club’s all-time assist leader, passing Trevor Linden; eclipsing Pavel Bure’s single season points record; and establishing the single-season assists record, surpassing the previous record he posted in 2006-07. He also led the League in assists (83) and set a number of career highs in offensive categories: goals (29), assists (83) and points (112).

2009-2010 2009-2010 Hart Trophy Voting, Top 16 Finishers

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

1. Henrik Sedin, VAN 894 (46-34-27-19-4)
2. Alex Ovechkin, WSH 834 (40-35-22-22-13)
3. Sidney Crosby, PIT 729 (20-35-38-29-7)
4. Ryan Miller, BUF 505 (13-22-24-27-20)
5. Ilya Bryzgalov, PHX 354 (13-6-17-22-31)
6. Steven Stamkos, T.B. 28 (0-0-2-3-9)
7. Patrick Kane, CHI 17 (0-1-0-2-4)
8. Martin Brodeur, N.J. 16 (0-0-2-0-6)
9. Craig Anderson, COL 10 (1-0-0-0-0)
10. Patrick Marleau, S.J. 10 (0-0-0-3-1)
11. Nicklas Backstrom, WSH 10 (0-0-0-2-4)
12. Joe Thornton, S.J. 9 (0-0-0-1-6)
13. Zach Parise, N.J. 7 (0-0-1-0-2)
14. Mike Green, WSH 5 (0-0-0-1-2)
15. Zdeno Chara, BOS 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
16. Duncan Keith, CHI 3 (0-0-0-0-3)


After earning 112 points to finish the regular season and earning the Art Ross title as the scoring leader in the NHL, Henrik Sedin finally gets his prize as he picked up the Art Ross Trophy in Las Vegas and the 2010 NHL Awards.

Sedin finished three points ahead of Sidney Crosby and Alex Ovechkin.

Sedin, Crosby and Ovechkin waged a neck-and-neck battle for the NHL points lead throughout the second half of the season, with Sedin regaining the lead by tallying four assists in a 7-3 win over the Calgary Flames in the Vancouver season finale. Ovechkin, needing three points to overhaul Sedin in his season-ending game, was held without a point in a 4-3 shootout loss to the Boston Bruins. Hours later, Crosby nosed past Ovechkin into second place by tallying five points (two goals, three assists) in a 6-5 overtime win over the New York Islanders.

All three players are up for the Hart Trophy and the Ted Lindsay award tonight.

Update: Ovechkin took home the Ted Lindsay award - his third consecutive win of the award.


Ryan Kesler arrived at the NHL awards in style with a pair of NHL2k showgirls on each arm, but it didn’t help him with the judges as he finished just behind Pavel Datsyuk who captured his third consecutive Frank Selke Trophy in recognition of "the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game," as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Datsyuk received 37 first-place votes and was named on 99 of 133 ballots for 688 points, edging Kesler (36 first-place votes, 655 points) in the closest race of 2009-10 NHL Awards voting.

2009-2010 Frank Selke Trophy Voting, Top 20 Finishers

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

1. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 688 (37-26-21-8-7)
2. Ryan Kesler, VAN 655 (36-26-15-10-8)
3. Jordan Staal, PIT 528 (24-17-21-19-7)
4. Jonathan Toews, CHI 408 (17-15-19-10-8)
5. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 185 (8-8-4-8-5)
6. Travis Zajac, N.J. 73 (0-5-3-6-5)
7. Mike Richards, PHI 71 (2-3-4-1-7)
8. Patrick Marleau, S.J. 65 (0-2-5-6-8)
9. Henrik Zetterberg, DET 61 (2-1-4-3-5)
10. Nicklas Backstrom, WSH 51 (1-3-1-4-3)
11. Mikko Koivu, MIN 50 (0-4-3-2-1)
12. Zach Parise, N.J. 44 (0-1-5-3-3)
13. Alex Burrows, VAN 43 (0-3-3-2-1)
14. Vernon Fiddler, PHX 42 (0-1-3-4-8)
15. Daniel Alfredsson, OTT 38 (0-2-2-4-2)
16. Jay McClement, STL 37 (2-0-0-4-5)
17. Mike Fisher, OTT 35 (1-1-2-1-5)
18. Blair Betts, PHI 24 (1-2-0-0-0)
19. Martin Hanzal, PHX 24 (0-1-2-2-1)
20. Marian Hossa, CHI 22 (0-1-2-1-2)

View More