Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks Report: Game 7 vs. Blackhawks

by Joey Kenward / Vancouver Canucks
April 13, 2011


By Joey Kenward, Team 1040

Do or Die. Must Win. No Tomorrow. Dig deep into whatever you have in your bag of clichés and feel free to use it as the Canucks and Blackhawks will decide their Western Conference Quarter Final series tonight with Game 7 at Rogers Arena. Daniel Sedin (5g,2a), Henrik Sedin (5a), and Alex Burrows (1g,3a) lead Vancouver in head-to-head scoring while Duncan Keith (4g,2a), Dave Bolland (2g,4a), and Patrick Kane (1g,5a) lead Chicago.

All bets are off when it comes to thinking if the Canucks are going to make any line-up changes following their 4-3 overtime loss in Game 6 two nights ago. Cory Schneider was the surprise starting goalie but was replaced by Roberto Luongo after suffering a leg injury in the third period. Head Coach Alain Vigneault claimed yesterday that Luongo will be the starter tonight and said he was told Sunday that he’d be starting the next game for Vancouver, whether it was a Game 7 or Game 1 of the second round.

Sami Salo suffered an undisclosed injury in the first period on Sunday and his status is unknown. If he can’t go, he could be replaced by the likes of Keith Ballard or Aaron Rome.

Vancouver is preparing for their tenth Game 7 in franchise history. Lifetime the Canucks are 5-4 in Game 7 scenarios, which includes a 4-2 record at home.

The Canucks have had good history on home ice when it comes to playing a Game 7 in the opening round of the playoffs. They were winners in 1992 (5-0 vs Winnipeg), 2003 (4-1 vs St. Louis), and 2007 (4-1 vs Dallas) while they lost in 2004 (3-2 OT vs Calgary).

Here is a list of players who have played in Game 7’s in their NHL careers:

Henrik Sedin 4 GP (2-2) W-L (2-2-4)
Daniel Sedin 4 GP (2-2) W-L (0-2-2)
Sami Salo 4 GP (2-2) W-L (0-1-1)
Maxim Lapierre 3 GP (3-0) W-L (0-1-1)
Mikael Samuelsson* 2 GP (1-1) W-L (1-0-1)
Christian Ehrhoff 1 GP (1-0) W-L (0-2-2)
Raffi Torres* 1 GP (0-1)W-L (0-1-1)
Kevin Bieksa 1 GP (1-0) W-L (0-0-0)
Alex Burrows 1 GP (1-0) W-L (0-0-0)
Jannik Hansen 1 GP (1-0) W-L (0-0-0)
Chris Higgins 1 GP (1-0) W-L (0-0-0)

Roberto Luongo 1 GP (1-0) W-L 1.00 GAA .933 SV%

* appeared in Game 7 of Stanley Cup Final

Vancouver has gone to overtime with Chicago six times in their playoff history. Their only victory came in their first meeting April 27, 1982 when Jim Nill scored in double overtime in a 2-1 Canucks victory at Chicago Stadium.

The Hawks, attempting to become the fourth team in NHL history to win a best-of-seven series when trailing 3-0, will have to make at least one change to their roster. Bryan Bickell has had surgery to repair tendons in his wrist after being involved in a collision with Salo in Game 2.

The Hawks are 5-4 lifetime in series that goes the distance. The Hawks have not been in a Game 7 since May 19, 1995 when they beat the Toronto Maple Leafs in the first round. Chicago has won their last three straight Game 7 performances and four of their last five. The last time the Hawks lost a Game 7 was May 18, 1971 in the Stanley Cup Final against the Montreal Canadiens.

Here is a list of Hawks players with Game 7 experience in their NHL careers:

Marian Hossa* 5 GP (1-4)W-L (0-3-3)
Brian Campbell 2 GP (1-1)W-L (0-2-2)
Fernando Pisani* 1 GP (0-1)W-L (1-0-1)

Marty Turco 1 GP (0-1)W-L 2.02 GAA .933 SV%

* appeared in Game 7 of Stanley Cup Final

View More