Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Streit earns Jacques Beauchamp Trophy

by Staff Writer / Montréal Canadiens
Defenseman-turned-forward also Canadiens' nominee for Bill Masterton Trophy


MONTREAL - Members of the media covering the Montreal Canadiens selected Mark Streit as the winner of the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy, awarded annually to the member of the Canadiens who played a dominant role during the regular season, without obtaining any particular honor. Streit will also be the team's candidate for the Bill Masterton Trophy, as determined by the Montreal chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Streit, who is completing his second NHL season, had his name cast on 51 of the 61 ballots in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp Molson Trophy. In the voting, he finished ahead of centre Tomas Plekanec and defenseman Mike Komisarek. Forward Mike Johnson finished in fourth place.

A native of Englisberg, Switzerland, the 29-year-old defenseman established career-highs in 2006-07 in games played (73), goals (10), assists (25) and points (35). Streit has had five multiple-point games so far this season and he had a four-game point scoring streak, from January 29 to February 4 inclusively.

Created in 1981 to honor the memory of a sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens, the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy was first awarded to Doug Jarvis at the end of the 1981-82 season.

Through the years, Craig Ludwig (1982-83, 1984-85, 1985-86) and Mike McPhee (1987-88, 1989-90, 1990-91) won the award three times each, while Benoit Brunet received the Trophy on two occasions (1994-95, 1998-99). Steve Bégin was last year's recipient of the trophy.

Created in 1968 to commemorate a former Minnesota North Star player who died on January 15, 1968 following a game, the Bill Masterton Trophy is awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Last season, Cristobal Huet was the Canadiens' representative for the award.

View More