Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

B's Stars Shine at All-Star Weekend

by Staff Writer / Boston Bruins
Montreal, PQ - Bruins captain Zdeno Chara broke the 16-year-old NHL SuperSkills Hardest Shot record Saturday night at the Bell Centre and captured his third consecutive Hardest Shot crown after recording a 105.4 MPH blast in the competition.

Chara recorded triple-digit blasts of 100.4 MPH in 2007 and 103.1 MPH in 2008 to win the Hardest Shot titles the last two years.

The previous Hardest Shot record was 105.2 MPH, held by Al Iafrate since 1993.

In doing so he won $24,000, which will be donated to the charity of his choice, Right to Play. On Thursday, Chara issued a charitable challenge to the five other competitors in this year’s Hardest Shot contest, and they all accepted. Each contestant wagered $1,000 of their own money and the winner of the contest will then donate the funds to the charity of their choice. Additionally, each of the player's respective teams agreed to contribute an additional $1,000 apiece and the NHL and NHL Players Association contributed $6,000 apiece, bringing the total ante to $24,000.

The other five competitors in the contest were Shea Weber (NSH) who finished second with a 103.4 MPH shot, Mike Komisarek (MTL), Mark Streit (NYI), Vinny Lecavalier (TBL) and Sheldon Souray (EDM).

Right To Play is an international humanitarian organization that uses sport and play programs to improve health, develop life skills, and foster peace for children and communities in some of the most disadvantaged areas of the world.

Chara wasn’t the only Bruin to take home hardware on Saturday however. Rookie Blake Wheeler recorded a game-high three goals to help lead the Rookies to an 8-5 victory over the Sophomores in the 2009 YoungStars Game and earned the YoungStars Game Most Valuable Player Award.

Additionally, Marc Savard finished second the Elimination Shootout, bested only by Phoenix’s Shane Doan. The Elimination Shootout featured 36 skaters and four goalies. Shooters that scored on their attempt move on to the next round, with each scoring attempt officiated in accordance with NHL shootout rules. The winner of the contest was the player who scores in the final round and all the other player(s) miss.

The Boston Bruins return to action after the NHL All-Star Break on Tuesday, January 27th when they host the Washington Capitals at 7:00 p.m. ET.  Five Bruins are participating in this weekend’s NHL All-Star festivities, with Zdeno Chara, Marc Savard and Tim Thomas suiting up for the Eastern Conference All-Stars, head coach Claude Julien coaching the Eastern Conference All-Stars and rookie Blake Wheeler playing in the 2009 YoungStars game. Milan Lucic was selected to play in the YoungStars game but he will be unable to play due to injury. The All-Star Game will be televised nationally in the U.S. on Sunday, January 25 at 6:00 p.m. ET.
View More