Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Bruins Hold First On-Ice Sessions of 2015-16 Training Camp

by Jess Isner / Boston Bruins

BOSTON — It is finally time.

The Bruins kicked off the on-ice portion of this year’s training camp on Friday. The roster players were split into three groups, with the first hitting the ice just after 10 AM.

Veterans Zdeno Chara Loui Eriksson and Chris Kelly were among the first session’s skaters. They were joined by AHL veterans such as Seth Griffith and Zach Trotman, as well as 2015 draft picks Jake DeBrusk (Round 1) and Brandon Carlo (Round 2).

The second session featured veteran David Krejci, who skated on a line with newcomer Matt Beleskey and David Pastrnak. Zac Rinaldo also skated with that group, as did defense prospect Colin Miller, who arrived in Boston via trade right before the 2015 NHL Draft.

The third session featured a line with veterans Brad Marchand, Patrice Bergeron and 2015 first-rounder Zach Senyshyn. Also in that group was Boston’s first overall draft pick in 2015, Jakub Zboril, as well as Jimmy Hayes, who arrived in Boston via trade on July 1.

Boston enters this training camp with seven goalies on its roster, and those present for the first session were 2014-15 P-Bruins netminder Malcolm Subban as well as NHL veteran Jonas Gustavsson, who is attending Boston’s camp on a PTO.

Zane McIntyre and Jeremy Smith were on the ice with the second group, while Tuukka Rask, Matt Ginn and Dan Vladar skated with the third group.

Below are the lines and defensive pairings from the first two sessions:

Session 1

Frank VatranoJoonas KemppainenSeth Griffith

Jake DeBruskAlex KhokhlachevLoui Eriksson

Chris KellyNoel AcciariTyler Randell

Anthony CamaraColby CaveMax Talbot

Zdeno CharaZach Trotman

Torey KrugBrandon Carlo

Joe MorrowKevan Miller

Goalies: Malcolm Subban, Jonas Gustavsson

Session 2

Matt BeleskeyDavid KrejciDavid Pastrnak

Brandon DeFazioAustin CzarnikBrian Ferlin

Zac RinaldoBen SextonAnton Blidh

Jesse Gabrielle — Eric Neiley — Zack Phillips

Chris BreenColin Miller

Matt IrwinChris Casto

Linus Arnesson — Max Iafrate

Goalies: Jeremy Smith, Zane McIntyre

Session 3

Brad MarchandPatrice BergeronZach Senyshyn

Jimmy HayesRyan SpoonerBrett Connolly

Colton Hargrove — Andrew Cherniwchan — Justin Hickman

Jakub ZborilAdam McQuaid

Jeremy Lauzon — Ben Youds

Tommy Cross — Frankie Simonelli/Max Everson

Goalies: Tuukka Rask, Matt Ginn, Dan Vladar

View More