Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Team Wamsley Claims Wendy Pleau Cup

by Chris Pinkert / St. Louis Blues
Tyler Shattock (left), Wendy Pleau and Keith Tkachuk pose with the Wendy Pleau Determination Cup on Thursday at Scottrade Center. The trophy was awarded to Team Wamsley for having the most points at the end of the training camp scrimmage games.
VIDEO: Trophy Presentation

Team Wamsley emerged as the winner of the Wendy Pleau Determination Cup after a 4-4 tie with Team Bennett on Thursday.

Each of the three training camp teams played two scrimmages this week, and teams were awarded two points for a win, none for a loss and one point for a tie.

Tyson Strachan, Chris Porter, Paul Kariya and Ryan Reaves scored for Team Wamsley, whose tie gave them 3 points in the tournament, enough to win the Wendy Pleau Determination Cup.

Aaron Palushaj and Brett Ponich tallied for Team Bennett, while David Perron chipped in two goals.

The trophy was first introduced in 2007 and is awarded to the team with the most points at the end of Training Camp scrimmages. The trophy is named for Wendy Pleau, wife of Blues General Manager Larry Pleau, who was diagnosed with cancer in 2006. On Thursday, she presented the trophy on the ice to Team Wamsley.

"It was really amazing, just amazing to watch the guys in the three years since (I was diagnosed). It gives me goosebumps," Wendy said after presenting the trophy.

"It's amazing and inspiring," said Blues goaltender Chris Mason after the game. "It puts into perspective how good we have it and everyone that has their health, you take it for granted. But you see a lady like Wendy go through what she did and come out a survivor, it's unbelievable."

Standings GP W L T PTS
Team Wamsley 2 1 0 1 3
Team Bennett 2 0 0 2 2
Team Shaw 2 0 1 1 1

Game 3

 Scoring 1st 2nd Total
 Team Wamsley 2 2 4
 Team Bennett 1 3 4


1st Period
Team Bennett: Aaron Palushaj (unassisted) 9:08
Team Wamsley: Tyson Strachan (unassisted) 12:41
Team Wamsley: Chris Porter (Ryan Reaves, Derek Armstrong) 18:51

2nd Period
Team Wamsley: Paul Kariya (Barret Jackman) 4:55
Team Bennett: Brett Ponich (B.J. Crombeen) 10:35
Team Wamsley: Ryan Reaves (Chris Porter, Carlo Colaiacovo) 11:51
Team Bennett: David Perron (Brendan Bell, David Backes) 16:27
Team Bennett: David Perron (David Backes) 23:24

Game 2

 Scoring 1st 2nd Total
 Team Wamsley 0 3 3
 Team Shaw 1 1 2


1st Period
Team Shaw: Alexander Steen (T.J. Oshie) 4:30

2nd Period
Team Wamsley: Brad Boyes (Patrik Berglund) :35
Team Wamsley: Chris Morehouse (Alex Pietrangelo) 7:16
Team Shaw: Alex Steen (Brendan Bell) 12:24
Team Wamsley: Ryan Reaves (Alex Hellstrom, T.J. Fast) 16:33

Game 1

 Scoring 1st 2nd Total
 Team Shaw 1 0 1
 Team Bennett 1 0 1


1st Period
Team Shaw: Tyler Shattock (Alex Steen, Barret Jackman) 8:30
Team Bennett: Steve Wagner (David Backes) 15:40

2nd Period


View More