Skip to main content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Blues Considered for 2016 NHL Awards

by Chris Pinkert / St. Louis Blues

ST. LOUIS - Vladimir Tarasenko and Colton Parayko took home the biggest honors for the St. Louis Blues at the 2016 NHL Awards, but they weren’t the only Blues to get recognition for a great 2015-16 season.

Tarasenko won the fan-voted NHL 17 Cover Vote and was named to the NHL’s Second All-Star Team along with Washington’s Alex Ovechkin, San Jose’s Joe Thornton and Brent Burns, Pittsburgh’s Kris Letang and Tampa Bay’s Ben Bishop.

Parayko was named to the NHL’s All-Rookie team, joining Edmonton's Connor McDavid, Chicago's Artemi Panarin, Buffalo's Jack Eichel, Philadelphia's Shayne Gostisbehere and Anaheim's John Gibson.

And while they might not be taking home any trophies from Vegas, the following Blues received strong consideration for several of the awards presented at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino on Wednesday night.

Doug Armstrong - GM of the Year
Ken Hitchcock - Jack Adams Award

After guiding the Blues to their first Western Conference Final appearance in 15 years, Armstrong and Hitchcock received votes for GM of the Year and the Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year), respectively. Armstrong and Hitchcock previously won GM of the Year and Coach of the Year honors at the NHL Awards in 2012. Under their leadership, the Blues finished second in the Western Conference in the regular season, posting a 49-24-9 record (107 points) despite key injuries throughout the year.

Brian Elliott - Vezina Trophy

Blues goalie Brian Elliott started the season backing up Jake Allen, then seized an opportunity to keep the starting job when Allen was injured in January. Elliott posted a 23-8-6 record in 42 games, which included a League-best .930 save-percentage, a 2.07 goals-against average and four shutouts. In the playoffs, Elliott started all but one game, going 9-9 with a 2.44 goals-against average and .921 save-percentage.

David Backes - Selke Trophy
Alexander Steen
- Selke Trophy
Jori Lehtera
- Selke Trophy

The Frank Selke Trophy is given to a forward who demonstrates the most skill in the defensive side of the game. This season the Blues had three candidates that received votes for the award: David Backes, Alexander Steen and Jori Lehtera. The award has been given to a Blues player just once in NHL history: Rick Meagher (1989-90).

Vladimir Tarasenko - Hart Trophy

Chicago’s Patrick Kane took the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player on Wednesday, but Tarasenko received plenty of consideration for the award. The 24-year-old native of Yaroslavl, Russia led the Blues with 74 points last season, scoring 40 goals and 34 assists. He was the first 40-goal scorer in St. Louis since Brad Boyes scored 43 during the 2007-08 season. He also led the club in scoring in the playoffs, netting nine goals and six assists (15 points) in 20 playoff appearances.

Colton Parayko - Calder Trophy

Blues rookie Colton Parayko was given plenty of consideration for the Calder Trophy, given annually to the NHL’s top rookie. Parayko ranked second among rookie defensemen in goals (9), assists (24) and points (33) while appearing in 79 games. He led all rookie skaters with a +28 rating, which ranked fifth in the entire League and set a franchise rookie record. The last Blues player to win the Calder Trophy was Barret Jackman, who claimed the award in 2003.

Jay Bouwmeester - Lady Byng Trophy

Blues defenseman Jay Bouwmeester was voted as a player deserving of the Lady Byng, given each year to a player that exhibits “the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” Bouwmeester was gentlemanly in 72 games for the Blues this season, posting a sportsman-like three goals and 16 assists (19 points).

View More