Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Blue Jackets present Nick Foligno with "Community MVP" award

by Staff / Columbus Blue Jackets

COLUMBUS, OHIO – Before tonight’s home finale against the Buffalo Sabres, the Columbus Blue Jackets presented forward Nick Foligno with the club’s 2014-15 “Community MVP” award which recognizes the player who best exemplifies community stewardship.

In honor of Nick’s commitment, Blue Jackets President of Hockey Operations John Davidson and Blue Jackets Foundation Executive Director Kathryn Dobbs presented Nick with the award along with a $5,000 donation from the club’s foundation to the Janis Foligno Foundation, a non-profit organization created in memory of Nick’s mother following her battle with breast cancer.

During the 2014-15 season, Nick was a leader in community involvement, lending his celebrity to raise awareness and advocate for a variety of team causes including the Jackets for Jackets coat collection in partnership with the Salvation Army; Hockey Talks in promotion of youth mental health issues; and Papa John’s Cookies for Kids fundraising program to benefit the Blue Jackets Foundation.

Additionally, he spent time away from the rink visiting those in need at Nationwide Children’s Hospital, volunteering at the Furniture Bank of Columbus, visiting the Ronald McDonald House, and meeting with kids after every single home game this season.

During the 2015 NHL All-Star Weekend, Nick embraced his role as Columbus ambassador and team captain, representing the city and the team on one of hockey’s largest stages and taking time to meet with fans to make their All-Star experience unforgettable.

The team has recognized a player for outstanding community service since the 2002-03 season. Past winners are: 2002-03 – Tyler Wright; 2003-04 – Luke Richardson; 2005-06 – Manny Malhotra; 2006-07 – Jody Shelley; 2007-08 – Dan Fritsche; 2008-09 – Rick Nash; 2009-10 – R.J. Umberger; 2010-11 – Jared Boll; 2011-12 – Marc Methot; 2012-13 – Derek MacKenzie; 2013-14 – Derek MacKenzie.

View More