Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

World Cup of Hockey features nine Blackhawks players

by Chicago Blackhawks / Chicago Blackhawks

The Chicago Blackhawks had nine players named to initial World Cup of Hockey rosters today. The World Cup of Hockey 2016 will take place from September 17–October 1 in Toronto and is a joint effort of the National Hockey League and the National Hockey League Players’ Association, in cooperation with the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). Teams released preliminary 16-man rosters today with remaining players to be announced at a later date.

F Artem Anisimov (Team Russia)

G Corey Crawford (Team Canada)

D Niklas Hjalmarsson (Team Sweden)

F Marian Hossa (Team Europe)

F Patrick Kane (Team USA)

D Duncan Keith (Team Canada)

F Artemi Panarin (Team Russia)

F Teuvo Teravainen (Team Finland)

F Jonathan Toews (Team Canada)

Also representing the Blackhawks in the tournament will be Senior Vice President and General Manager Stan Bowman (Co-Manager, Team North America). Team North America is comprised of the top players from Canada and the United States who are 23 or under as of Oct. 1, 2016.

The eight teams are split into two Groups, Group A and Group B, for the Preliminary Round (Sept. 17-22), when each team will play its three Group opponents in a round-robin format. The top two finishers in each of group will advance to the Semifinals (Sept. 24-25), where each qualifier will face an elimination game against a team from the other Group. The two Semifinal winners will meet in the Final, a best-of-three series on Sept. 27, Sept. 29 and, if necessary, Oct. 1.

Live coverage of all tournament games will be provided by Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada and ESPN in the United States. A complete broadcast schedule will be announced at a later date.

For more information on the World Cup of Hockey 2016, visit

View More