Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

WGN Radio named Station of the Year at the 2010 IBA Silver Dome Awards

by WGN Radio Press Release / Chicago Blackhawks
WGN Radio took top honors at the 2010 Illinois Broadcasters Association (IBA) Silver Dome Awards, held June 16 in Normal. The IBA recognized WGN Radio as Station of the Year at its annual best in state awards ceremony.

In addition to being named Station of the Year, WGN Radio also earned first place honors in eight categories, the most of any station. The first place finishes included: best local radio newscast for news anchor Andrea Darlas, best live coverage of an event for the WGN Radio’s coverage of the Gold Coast high rise fire, best radio news reporter for Rob Hart, best radio sportscaster for Dave Eanet, best sports play-by-play for Chicago Blackhawks’ broadcasters John Wiedeman and Troy Murray, best local radio show for Blackhawks Confidential, best local public affairs program for Dean Richards’ Breast Cancer 2009, and best locally produced PSA for the WGN Radio Neediest Kids Fund.

“Our team at WGN Radio works hard every day to make the station relevant for listeners throughout Chicagoland and the Midwest by delivering on our commitment to news, entertaining and informative talk, sports and service to our community,” said Tom Langmyer, Vice President/General Manager of WGN Radio.

Radio station competition is divided into three market classifications, allowing stations in similarly sized markets to compete on a level playing field. Out-of-state broadcasters do the judging for the Illinois competition. Entry fees collected for the competition help fund the IBA's College Endowment and Minority Internship Programs.
View More