Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

Norfolk's Haviland Named Coach of the Year

by Staff Writer / Chicago Blackhawks

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The American Hockey League announced today that Mike Haviland of the Norfolk Admirals has been named the winner of the Louis A.R. Pieri Memorial Award as the AHL's outstanding coach for the 2006-07 season, as voted by members of the media in each of the league's 27 cities.

In his second season with the Admirals, Haviland has guided the club to the best record in franchise history. With five games remaining, Norfolk's 48 wins and 103 points are already the highest totals in the 28-year history of professional hockey in Hampton Roads. The Admirals rank third in the AHL in offense, averaging 3.76 goals per game, and first in the league on the power play at 21.4 percent efficiency. Entering Friday's home season finale, the Admirals are one win shy of tying the American Hockey League single-season record of 33 home wins.

Haviland has kept his club, one of the youngest in the AHL, at or near the top of the overall league standings all season while also seeing 22 different players earn recalls to the parent Chicago Blackhawks, including rookies Troy Brouwer, David Bolland, Adam Burish, Michael Blunden, Cam Barker and Bryan Bickell.

A 39-year-old native of Middletown, N.J., Haviland played briefly in the AHL with Binghamton in 1989-90 after an All-American career at Elmira College. Before joining the Admirals, he spent four seasons as a head coach in the ECHL, winning that league's Kelly Cup championship with Atlantic City in 2003 and with Trenton in 2005.

The Louis A.R. Pieri Award, which was first presented in 1968, honors the late Mr. Pieri, a long-time contributor to the AHL as the owner of the Providence Reds. Pieri also served as the general manager of three Calder Cup champions (1938, 1940, 1949) in Providence.

Previous winners of the award include Frank Mathers (1969), Fred Shero (1970), Al MacNeil (1972, '77), Floyd Smith (1973), John Muckler (1975), Jacques Demers (1983), Larry Pleau (1987), Mike Milbury (1988), John Paddock (1988), Marc Crawford (1993), Barry Trotz (1994), Robbie Ftorek (1995, '96), Peter Laviolette (1999), Glen Hanlon (2000), Claude Julien (2003), Claude Noel (2004), Randy Cunneyworth (2005) and Kevin Dineen (2006).

Haviland's Admirals will square off against the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins tonight at Scope. Friday night is Fan Appreciation Night, with thousands of prizes being given away to the best fans in the American Hockey League. Friday will also feature another STIHL Hometown Hero presentation.

View More