Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Chicago Blackhawks

McNeill, Danault among 41 to try out for 2012 WJC team

by Mike G. Morreale / Chicago Blackhawks


GOALIES -- Tyler Bunz, Medicine Hat, WHL (Edmonton); Louis Domingue, Quebec, QMJHL (Phoenix); Mark Visentin, Niagara, OHL (Phoenix); Scott Wedgewood, Plymouth, OHL (New Jersey).

DEFENSEMEN -- Nathan Beaulieu, Saint John, QMJHL (Montreal); Cody Cedi, Ottawa, OHL (2012 Draft eligible); Mathew Dumba, Red Deer, WHL (2012 Draft eligible); Jerome Gauthier-Leduc, Rimouski, QMJHL), Buffalo); Brandon Gormley, Moncton, QMJHL, (Phoenix); Dougie Hamilton, Niagara, OHL (Boston); Scott Harrington, London, OHL (Pittsburgh); Brenden Kichton, Spokane, WHL (N.Y. Islanders); Joe Morrow, Portland, WHL (Pittsburgh); Ryan Murphy, Kitchener, OHL (Carolina); Ryan Murray, Everett, WHL (2012 Draft eligible); Jamie Oleksiak, Saginaw, OHL (Dallas); Alex Petrovic, Red Deer, WHL (Florida); Mark Pysyk, Edmonton, WHL (Buffalo).

FORWARDS -- Michaël Bournival, Shawinigan, QMJHL (Montreal); Brett Bulmer, Kelowna, WHL (Minnesota); Phillip Danault, Victoriaville, QMJHL (Chicago); Phillip Di Guiseppe, University of Michigan, CCHA (2012 Draft eligible); Michael Ferland, Brandon,  WHL (Calgary); Brendan Gallagher, Vancouver, WHL, (Montreal); Freddie Hamilton, Niagara, OHL (San Jose); Quinton Howden, Moose Jaw, WHL (Florida); Jonathan Huberdeau, Saint John, QMJHL (Florida); Boone Jenner, Oshawa, OHL (Columbus); Mark McNeill, Prince Albert, WHL (Chicago); Tanner Pearson, Barrie, OHL (2012 Draft eligible); Zack Phillips, Saint John, QMJHL, (Minnesota); Ty Rattie, Portland, WHL (St. Louis); Max Reinhart, Kootenay, WHL (Calgary); Brad Ross, Portland, WHL (Toronto); Mark Scheifele, Barrie, OHL (Winnipeg); Jaden Schwartz, Colorado College, WCHA (St. Louis); Ryan Spooner, Kingston, OHL (Boston); Mark Stone, Brandon, WHL (Ottawa); Ryan Strome, Niagara, OHL (N.Y. Islanders); Christian Thomas, Oshawa, (OHL, (N.Y. Rangers); Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa, OHL (Los Angeles)
Hockey Canada on Monday announced its 41-player roster for the Canada National Junior Team Sport Chek Selection Camp later next month at the WinSport Athletic & Ice Complex in Calgary.

The camp, which will take place Dec. 10-14, will determine the roster Canada will take to the 2012 World Junior Championship, which will be played in Edmonton and Calgary starting Dec. 26.

The camp roster includes three returning players from last year's silver-medal winning team -- forwards Jaden Schwartz (St. Louis Blues) of Colorado College and Quinton Howden (Florida Panthers) of the Moose Jaw Warriors, and goalie Mark Visentin (Phoenix Coyotes) of the Niagara IceDogs.

There are 29 players attending the selection camp who participated in Canada's summer development camp in August, including NHL first-round draft choices Nathan Beaulieu (Montreal, 2011), Brandon Gormley (Phoenix, 2010), Joe Morrow (Pittsburgh, 2011), Ryan Murphy (Carolina, 2011), Jamie Oleksiak (Dallas, 2011) and Mark Pysyk (Buffalo, 2010) on defense, and forwards Howden, Jonathan Huberdeau (Florida, 2011), Mark Scheifele (Winnipeg, 2011) and Ryan Strome (New York Islanders, 2011) on offense.

Five players eligible for the 2012 NHL Draft were invited -- defensemen Cody Ceci of the Ottawa 67's in the Ontario Hockey League, Mathew Dumba of the Red Deer Rebels in the Western Hockey League and Ryan Murray of the Everett Silvertips (WHL), and forwards Tanner Pearson of the Barrie Colts (OHL) and Phillip Di Guiseppe of the University of Michigan (CCHA).

"On behalf of Hockey Canada, we want to congratulate the players named to the camp roster today, along with their club teams, parents and minor hockey coaches that have helped them reach this level," said Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations.

Once the final roster is named at the conclusion of the selection camp on Dec. 14, Team Canada, which will be coached by Don Hay of the WHL's Vancouver Giants, will play three exhibition games around Alberta prior to the 2012 WJC.

Author: Mike G. Morreale | Staff Writer

View More