Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

O'Reilly Wins Lady Byng Trophy

by Colorado Avalanche / Colorado Avalanche

The National Hockey League announced this evening that Colorado Avalanche forward Ryan O’Reilly has been named the recipient of the 2014 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

Ryan O'Reilly 

O’Reilly, 23, is only the second player in franchise history to capture the Lady Byng Trophy, joining Joe Sakic in 2001. O’Reilly received 1181 votes, besting Martin St. Louis (358) and Patrick Marleau (323). The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which dates back to 1925, is an annual award given “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season. The announcement came tonight during the 2014 NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

O’Reilly led the Avalanche with a career-high 28 goals this past season, the most by a Colorado player since 2009-10 (Chris Stewart, 28). He also led the club in power-play goals (9) and game winners (6-tied) and ranked first among Avalanche forwards in ice time (19:49). O’Reilly finished third on the team with a career-high 64 points.

A native of Clinton, Ontario, O’Reilly was flagged for just one minor penalty all season, joining Butch Goring (1977-78, Los Angeles) as the only players ever to receive two or fewer PIM over 80 or more games.

O’Reilly led the NHL with 83 takeaways, the second time in his career that he’s paced the league in that category (2011-12). He has led the Avalanche in takeaways during each of his four full seasons in the league. O’Reilly went on to finish third on the team in postseason scoring with six points (2g/4a) in seven playoff contests.

Pts. 1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th
1. Ryan O'Reilly, COL 1181 (110-5-8-1-3)
2. Martin St. Louis, NYR 358 (4-20-27-11-10)
3. Patrick Marleau, SJ 323 (3-15-23-21-10)
4. Tyler Seguin, DAL 289 (2-23-15-7-12)
5. Frans Nielsen, NYI 182 (1-15-6-9-10)
6. Marcus Johansson, WSH 128 (1-7-7-9-7)
7. Teemu Selanne, ANA 115 (5-4-4-4-5)
8. Matt Duchene, COL 104 (1-3-8-9-6)
9. Daniel Alfredsson, DET 97 (1-5-6-6-4)
10. Anze Kopitar, LA 61 (2-4-1-2-2)
11. David Krejci, BOS 57 (0-4-2-5-4)
12. Jason Pominville, MIN 51 (0-2-3-4-10)
13. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 42 (0-4-2-1-1)
14. Patrick Kane, CHI 39 (0-1-2-6-4)
15. Jordan Eberle, EDM 34 (0-3-1-2-2)
16. Ben Smith, CHI 33 (0-2-3-1-1)
17. Jaromir Jagr, NJ 30 (2-0-2-0-0)
18. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 29 (0-3-0-2-2)
19. Duncan Keith, CHI 25 (0-3-0-1-1)
20. Marc-Edouard Vlasic, SJ 23 (1-1-1-0-1)

View More