Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Emile Francis Award

Award Criteria

  • Length of Service/Involvement in hockey
  • Drive/Passion for the game of hockey
  • Impact in growing the game at the grassroots level
  • Community/charity involvement


This award honors former Rangers Coach and General Manager Emile Francis. A longtime supporter of minor hockey and founder of the Metropolitan Junior Hockey Association, Emile is the 2016 recipient of the Wayne Gretzky International Award, which recognizes those who have contributed to the growth and advancement of hockey in the United States. Emile is a longtime supporter of amateur hockey, having organized countless clinics and seminars and established ties between the New York Rangers and the local youth hockey community that still stand today.

The Emile Francis Award continues this legacy, giving the youth hockey community an opportunity to acknowledge volunteers who embody Emile's spirit and thank them for their outstanding service.

Nominees should exemplify selfless community outreach, integrity and passion for the growth of youth hockey, while generously giving their time to help mentor the next crop of NHL hopefuls.

The winner's local youth hockey organization will be given a $5,000 grant, donated by the New York Rangers Alumni Association.

2019 Matt Anderson Union Thunder
2018 Stacey Wierl Bedford Bears
2017 Matthew O'Buck East Haven Youth Hockey
2016 John O'Malley Avaon Pond Rink
2015 Steve & Sharon Ketchabaw Rye Rangers
2014 George McCafferty Red Bank Generals
2013 Joseph Ruggiero New York Raptors
2012 Kevin Connolly Ossining High School
2011 Caroline Loeb Brewster Lady Bulldogs
2010 Peter Caputo Scarsdale Youth Hockey
2009 Tony Mazzola Mid State Golden Blades
2008 Christopher Schuler Monsignor Farrell High School