SHARE
Round 3
Stanley Cup Final
Posted On Tuesday, 03.11.2014 / 11:10 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TOR @ SJS - 11:04 of the First Period

At 11:04 of the first period in the Toronto Maple Leafs/San Jose Sharks game, the Situation Room informed the referee that Brent Burns' shot crossed the Toronto goal line. Good goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.11.2014 / 11:05 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TOR @ SJS - 9:37 of the First Period

At 9:37 of the first period in the Toronto Maple Leafs/San Jose Sharks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Toronto net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play while the puck was under James Reimer's body in the crease. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.11.2014 / 10:10 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ STL - 1:54 of the Third Period

At 1:54 of the third period in the Dallas Stars/St. Louis Blues game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Dallas net. Video review confirmed the puck did not cross the goal line. No goal St. Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.11.2014 / 9:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NJD @ PHI - 19:20 of the Third Period

At 19:20 of the third period in the New Jersey Devils/Philadelphia Flyers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the New Jersey net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Philadelphia's Scott Hartnell pushed goaltender Martin Brodeur across the goal line with the puck. According to Rule 78.5 (ix) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when a goaltender has been pushed into the net together with the puck after making a save." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no penalty and no goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.11.2014 / 7:42 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NSH @ BUF - 17:10 of the First Period

At 17:10 of the first period in the Nashville Predators/Buffalo Sabres game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Shea Weber's shot deflected off Nick Spaling's skate and into the Buffalo net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Nashville.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.09.2014 / 10:18 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

STL @ MIN - 2:26 of the Third Period

At 2:26 of the third period in the St. Louis Blues/Minnesota Wild game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Minnesota net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal St. Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 03.09.2014 / 6:33 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

BOS @ FLA - 9:58 of the Second Period

At 9:58 of the second period in the Boston Bruins/Florida Panthers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Florida net. The Situation Room confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Andrej Meszaros' shot entered the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.08.2014 / 9:20 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

BOS @ TBL - 6:05 of the Third Period

At 6:05 of the third period in the Boston Bruins/Tampa Bay Lightning game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Tampa Bay net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he had lost sight of the puck and was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play before the it crossed the Tampa Bay goal line. This is not a reviewable play, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.08.2014 / 8:13 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

BOS @ TBL - 4:13 of the Second Period

At 4:13 of the second period in the Boston Bruins/Tampa Bay Lightning game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Mark Barberio's shot entered the Boston net in a legal fashion. Good goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.08.2014 / 7:44 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHX @ WSH - 12:11 of the First Period

At 12:11 of the first period in the Coyotes/Capitals game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play after the puck entered the Washington net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Phoenix's Brandon McMillan pushed goaltender Jaroslav Halak's pad and puck across the goal line. According to Rule 78.5 (ix) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when a goaltender has been pushed into the net together with the puck after making a save." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no penalty and no goal Phoenix.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16-21 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

That was something I've been dreaming of, something I've told myself before the third period I was going to do ... It was an amazing feeling. It's hard to describe. I didn't believe it went in at first but when I saw all the reaction and all the fans going crazy and my teammates going crazy, it's just an unbelievable feeling. I didn't know what to do. I didn't know whether to jump or just skate and do a Theo Fleury. I don't think I'm the same caliber player he is so I couldn't do it.

— Flames forward Mikael Backlund on scoring the overtime winner against the Ducks in Gm. 3