We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
NEW! SIGN IN WITH YOUR SOCIAL PROFILE
OR
Username or EmailPassword
 
SHARE

PHX @ WSH - 12:11 of the First Period

Saturday, 03.08.2014 / 7:44 PM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2013-2014 Situation Room blog
PHX @ WSH - 12:11 of the First Period

At 12:11 of the first period in the Coyotes/Capitals game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play after the puck entered the Washington net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Phoenix's Brandon McMillan pushed goaltender Jaroslav Halak's pad and puck across the goal line. According to Rule 78.5 (ix) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when a goaltender has been pushed into the net together with the puck after making a save." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no penalty and no goal Phoenix.

Quote of the Day

He seemed to thrive on his own and didn't really need any push from me. I certainly don't want to get in the way of the coaches. You see how that goes sometimes. I never really worried about it and just enjoyed the ride.

— David Ekblad on his son's [Aaron Ekblad] journey to the NHL, signing with the Florida Panthers