Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Leading the charge


Since the Lightning's establishment as an NHL expansion franchise in 1992, five ownership groups have headed the organization and aided in its journey toward becoming the world-class, championship contender that it is today. From Hall-of-Famer Phil Esposito laying the foundation with the berth of the Lightning and hockey in the Sunshine State, to Jeff Vinik leading the team to new heights on and off the ice, each has made their mark as the franchise embarks on its 25th anniversary.