Senators bring Stanley home to Ottawa

The original Ottawa Senators joined the NHL in 1917, winning just nine of 22 games in their first season. But, in their third season, the Sens would take their first of four Cups.

In 1921, the Senators defended their title, downing the Vancouver Millionaires in a tight five-game series. In 1923, the Senators took their third Stanley Cup title in four seasons. Cy Denneny, who would later go on to coach the team, was the leading scorer that season with 31 points in 24 games. Nighbor was third on the club in scoring and Benedict was still the goalie.

Ottawa returned to the Stanley Cup Finals in 1925-26, losing to the Montreal Maroons. The next season, the Sens won their fourth and final, Cup -- the first awarded to the NHL champ after the League took over the trophy. Seven years later, after a series of financial hardships, the Senators were transferred to St. Louis.

Shop  |  NHL Catalog  |  Game Notes  |  Auctions  |  Tickets  |  Vintage HockeyTM  |  Newsletter  |  Fantasy Games
Vintage Hockey TM