Washington Capitals Vancouver Canucks Toronto Maple Leafs Tampa Bay Lightning St. Louis Blues San Jose Sharks Pittsburgh Penguins Phoenix Coyotes Philadelphia Flyers Ottawa Senators New York Rangers New York Islanders New Jersey Devils Nashville Predators Montreal Canadiens Minnesota Wild Los Angeles Kings Florida Panthers Edmonton Oilers Detroit Red Wings Dallas Stars Columbus Blue Jackets Colorado Avalanche Chicago Blackhawks Carolina Hurricanes Calgary Flames Buffalo Sabres Boston Bruins Atlanta Thrashers Anaheim Ducks
Prince of Wales Trophy
Prince of Wales Trophy

Beginning with the 1993-94 season, the club which advances to the Stanley Cup Finals as the winner of the Eastern Conference Championship is presented with the Prince of Wales Trophy.

History: His Royal Highness, the Prince of Wales, donated the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1924. From 1927-28 through 1937-38, the award was presented to the team finishing first in the American Division of the NHL. (The team finishing first in the Canadian Division received the O'Brien Trophy during these years.) From 1938-39, when the NHL reverted to one section, to 1966-67, it was presented to the team winning the NHL regular-season championship. With expansion in 1967-68, it again became a divisional trophy, awarded to the regular-season champions of the East Division through to the end of the 1973-74 season. Beginning in 1974-75, it was awarded to the regular-season winner of the conference bearing the name of the trophy. From 1981-82 to 1992-93 the trophy was presented to the playoff champion in the Wales Conference. Since 1993-94, the trophy has been presented to the playoff champion in the Eastern Conference.


2007-08 Winner: Pittsburgh Penguins

The Pittsburgh Penguins won the Prince of Wales Trophy after defeating the Philadelphia Flyers in the Eastern Conference Finals. 


Year Team
2008 Pittsburgh Penguins
2007 Ottawa Senators
2006 Carolina Hurricanes
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 New Jersey Devils
2002 Carolina Hurricanes
2001 New Jersey Devils
2000 New Jersey Devils
1999 Buffalo Sabres
1998 Washington Capitals
1997 Philadelphia Flyers
1996 Florida Panthers
1995 New Jersey Devils
1994 New York Rangers
1993 Montreal Canadiens
1992 Pittsburgh Penguins
1991 Pittsburgh Penguins
1990 Boston Bruins
1989 Montreal Canadiens
1988 Boston Bruins
1987 Philadelphia Flyers
1986 Montreal Canadiens
1985 Philadelphia Flyers
1984 New York Islanders
1983 New York Islanders
1982 New York Islanders
1981 Montreal Canadiens
1980 Buffalo Sabres
1979 Montreal Canadiens
1978 Montreal Canadiens
1977 Montreal Canadiens
1976 Montreal Canadiens
1975 Buffalo Sabres
1974 Boston Bruins
1973 Montreal Canadiens
1972 Boston Bruins
1971 Boston Bruins
1970 Chicago Blackhawks
1969 Montreal Canadiens
1968 Montreal Canadiens
1967 Chicago Blackhawks
1966 Montreal Canadiens
1965 Detroit Red Wings
1964 Montreal Canadiens
1963 Toronto Maple Leafs
1962 Montreal Canadiens
1961 Montreal Canadiens
1960 Montreal Canadiens
1959 Montreal Canadiens
1958 Montreal Canadiens
1957 Detroit Red Wings
1956 Montreal Canadiens
1955 Detroit Red Wings
1954 Detroit Red Wings
1953 Detroit Red Wings
1952 Detroit Red Wings
1951 Detroit Red Wings
1950 Detroit Red Wings
1949 Detroit Red Wings
1948 Toronto Maple Leafs
1947 Montreal Canadiens
1946 Montreal Canadiens
1945 Montreal Canadiens
1944 Montreal Canadiens
1943 Detroit Red Wings
1942 New York Rangers
1941 Boston Bruins
1940 Boston Bruins
1939 Boston Bruins
1938 Boston Bruins
1937 Detroit Red Wings
1936 Detroit Red Wings
1935 Boston Bruins
1934 Detroit Red Wings
1933 Boston Bruins
1932 New York Rangers
1931 Boston Bruins
1930 Boston Bruins
1929 Boston Bruins
1928 Boston Bruins
1927 Ottawa Senators
1926 Montreal Maroons
1925 Montreal Canadiens
1924 Montreal Canadiens


Search for NHL Merchandise


Search for NHL Memorabilia

National Hockey League logo NHL.com is the official Web site of the National Hockey League.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. (c) 2008 NHL. All Rights Reserved.
Advertise  |  Privacy Policy  |  Online Transmission Policy
Copyright Policy |  Terms of Service |  Update Your Profile
NHL Shop | FAQ | CBA | Feedback | Community | Jobs | Game Notes
digg this Digg   del.icio.us Del.icio.us   RSS