Washington Capitals Vancouver Canucks Toronto Maple Leafs Tampa Bay Lightning St. Louis Blues San Jose Sharks Pittsburgh Penguins Phoenix Coyotes Philadelphia Flyers Ottawa Senators New York Rangers New York Islanders New Jersey Devils Nashville Predators Montreal Canadiens Minnesota Wild Los Angeles Kings Florida Panthers Edmonton Oilers Detroit Red Wings Dallas Stars Columbus Blue Jackets Colorado Avalanche Chicago Blackhawks Carolina Hurricanes Calgary Flames Buffalo Sabres Boston Bruins Atlanta Thrashers Anaheim Ducks
Art Ross Trophy
Art Ross Trophy

The Art Ross Trophy is an annual award given to the player who leads the League in scoring points at the end of the regular season.

Arthur Howie Ross, former manager-coach of the Boston Bruins, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1947.

If two players finish the season with the same number of points, the trophy is awarded in the following manner: 1. Player with most goals; 2. Player with fewer games played; 3. Player scoring first goal of the season.


2008 Winner

    Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • First career Art Ross Trophy
  • Finished the season with 112 points (65 goals, 47 assists), six ahead of Pittsburgh Penguins center Evgeni Malkin
  • Set the single-season record for goals by a left wing, surpassing Los Angeles' Luc Robitaille's 63 set in 1992-93
  • His 65 goals was the most by an NHL player since Pittsburgh's Mario Lemieux potted 69 in 1995-96


Year Player Team
2008 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2007 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2006 Joe Thornton San Jose Sharks
2004 Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 Peter Forsberg Colorado Avalance
2002 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames
2001 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
2000 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1999 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1998 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1997 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1996 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1995 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1994 Wayne Gretzky Los Angeles Kings
1993 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1992 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1991 Wayne Gretzky Los Angeles Kings
1990 Wayne Gretzky Los Angeles Kings
1989 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1988 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1987 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1986 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1985 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1984 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1983 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1982 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1981 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1980 Marcel Dionne Los Angeles Kings
1979 Bryan Trottier New York Islanders
1978 Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens
1977 Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens
1976 Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens
1975 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1974 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins
1973 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins
1972 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins
1971 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins
1970 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1969 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins
1968 Stan Mikita Chicago Blackhawks
1967 Stan Mikita Chicago Blackhawks
1966 Bobby Hull Chicago Blackhawks
1965 Stan Mikita Chicago Blackhawks
1964 Stan Mikita Chicago Blackhawks
1963 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings
1962 Bobby Hull Chicago Blackhawks
1961 Bernie Geoffrion Montreal Canadiens
1960 Bobby Hull Chicago Blackhawks
1959 Dickie Moore Montreal Canadiens
1958 Dickie Moore Montreal Canadiens
1957 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings
1956 Jean Beliveau Montreal Canadiens
1955 Bernie Geoffrion Montreal Canadiens
1954 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings
1953 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings
1952 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings
1951 Gordie Howe Detroit Red Wings
1950 Ted Lindsay Detroit Red Wings
1949 Roy Conacher Chicago Blackhawks
1948 Elmer Lach Montreal Canadiens
1947* Max Bentley Chicago Blackhawks
1946* Max Bentley Chicago Blackhawks
1945* Elmer Lach Montreal Canadiens
1944* Herbie Cain Boston Bruins
1943* Doug Bentley Chicago Blackhawks
1942* Bryan Hextall New York Rangers
1941* Bill Cowley Boston Bruins
1940* Milt Schmidt Boston Bruins
1939* Toe Blake Montreal Canadiens
1938* Gordie Drillon Toronto Maple Leafs
1937* Dave Schriner New York Americans
1936* Dave Schriner New York Americans
1935* Charlie Conacher Toronto Maple Leafs
1934* Charlie Conacher Toronto Maple Leafs
1933* Bill Cook New York Rangers
1932* Harvey Jackson Toronto Maple Leafs
1931* Howie Morenz Montreal Canadiens
1930* Cooney Weiland Boston Bruins
1929* Ace Bailey Toronto Maple Leafs
1928* Howie Morenz Montreal Canadiens
1927* Bill Cook New York Rangers
1926* Nels Stewart Montreal Maroons
1925* Babe Dye Toronto Arenas
1924* Cy Denneny Ottawa Senators
1923* Babe Dye Toronto St. Pats
1922* Punch Broadbent Ottawa Senators
1921* Newsy Lalonde Montreal Canadiens
1920* Joe Malone Quebec Bulldogs
1919* Odie Cleghorn Montreal Canadiens
1918* Joe Malone Montreal Canadiens
* Scoring leader prior to inception of Art Ross Trophy in 1947-48


Search for NHL Merchandise


Search for NHL Memorabilia

National Hockey League logo NHL.com is the official Web site of the National Hockey League.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. (c) 2008 NHL. All Rights Reserved.
Advertise  |  Privacy Policy  |  Online Transmission Policy
Copyright Policy |  Terms of Service |  Update Your Profile
NHL Shop | FAQ | CBA | Feedback | Community | Jobs | Game Notes
digg this Digg   del.icio.us Del.icio.us   RSS