Washington Capitals Vancouver Canucks Toronto Maple Leafs Tampa Bay Lightning St. Louis Blues San Jose Sharks Pittsburgh Penguins Phoenix Coyotes Philadelphia Flyers Ottawa Senators New York Rangers New York Islanders New Jersey Devils Nashville Predators Montreal Canadiens Minnesota Wild Los Angeles Kings Florida Panthers Edmonton Oilers Detroit Red Wings Dallas Stars Columbus Blue Jackets Colorado Avalanche Chicago Blackhawks Carolina Hurricanes Calgary Flames Buffalo Sabres Boston Bruins Atlanta Thrashers Anaheim Ducks
Richard Trophy
Maurice Richard Trophy

The Maurice Richard Trophy is an annual award given to the National Hockey League's top goal scorer by the NHL Board of Governors. Winners are selected based on regular-season play.

The Maurice Richard Trophy, officially unveiled on Jan. 24, 1999, was a gift to the NHL from the Canadiens to honor the first player in League history to score 50 goals in 50 games, 50 goals in a season and 500 in a career.


2008 Winner

    Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • First Maurice Richard Trophy
  • 65 goals were the most ever by a left wing and most in a NHL regular season since Mario Lemieux scored 69 in 1995-96
  • Led all players in power play goals (22) and game-winning goals (11) in 2007-08


Year Player Team Goals
2008 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals 65
2007 Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay Lightning 52
2006 Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose Sharks 56
2004 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames 41
  Rick Nash Columbus Blue Jackets 41
  Ilya Kovalchuk Atlanta Thrashers 41
2003 Milan Hejduk Colorado Avalanche 50
2002 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames 52
2001 Pavel Bure Florida Panthers 59
2000 Pavel Bure Florida Panthers 58
1999 Teemu Selanne Mighty Ducks of Anaheim 47


Search for NHL Merchandise


Search for NHL Memorabilia

National Hockey League logo NHL.com is the official Web site of the National Hockey League.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. (c) 2008 NHL. All Rights Reserved.
Advertise  |  Privacy Policy  |  Online Transmission Policy
Copyright Policy |  Terms of Service |  Update Your Profile
NHL Shop | FAQ | CBA | Feedback | Community | Jobs | Game Notes
digg this Digg   del.icio.us Del.icio.us   RSS