Washington Capitals Vancouver Canucks Toronto Maple Leafs Tampa Bay Lightning St. Louis Blues San Jose Sharks Pittsburgh Penguins Phoenix Coyotes Philadelphia Flyers Ottawa Senators New York Rangers New York Islanders New Jersey Devils Nashville Predators Montreal Canadiens Minnesota Wild Los Angeles Kings Florida Panthers Edmonton Oilers Detroit Red Wings Dallas Stars Columbus Blue Jackets Colorado Avalanche Chicago Blackhawks Carolina Hurricanes Calgary Flames Buffalo Sabres Boston Bruins Atlanta Thrashers Anaheim Ducks
Jennings Trophy
William M. Jennings Trophy

The William M. Jennings Trophy is an annual award given to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it. Winners are selected based on regular-season play.

The Jennings Trophy was presented in 1981-82 by the National Hockey League's Board of Governors to honor the late William M. Jennings, longtime governor and president of the New York Rangers and one of the great builders of hockey in the United States.



2008 Winners

Detroit Red Wings
  • The Detroit Red Wings' Dominik Hasek and Chris Osgood captured the William M. Jennings Trophy, presented "to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it
  • Osgood appeared in 43 games and Hasek in 41, with each surrendering 84 goals as the Red Wings finished with the most points in the League (115) and the fewest goals against (184).



Year Player Team
2008 Dominik Hasek/Chris Osgood Detroit Red Wings
2007 Niklas Backstrom/Manny Fernandez Minnesota Wild
2006 Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary Flames
2004 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2003 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
  Roman Cechmanek/Robert Esche Philadelphia Flyers
2002 Patrick Roy Colorado Avalanche
2001 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
2000 Roman Turek St. Louis Blues
1999 Ed Belfour/Roman Turek Dallas Stars
1998 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
1997 Martin Brodeur/Mike Dunham New Jersey Devils
1996 Chris Osgood/Mike Vernon Detroit Red Wings
1995 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1994 Dominik Hasek/Grant Fuhr Buffalo Sabres
1993 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1992 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1991 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1990 Andy Moog/Rejean Lemelin Boston Bruins
1989 Patrick Roy/Brian Hayward Montreal Canadiens
1988 Patrick Roy/Brian Hayward Montreal Canadiens
1987 Patrick Roy/Brian Hayward Montreal Canadiens
1986 Bob Froese/Darren Jensen Philadelphia Flyers
1985 Tom Barrasso/Bob Sauve Buffalo Sabres
1984 Al Jensen/Pat Riggin Washington Capitals
1983 Roland Melanson/Billy Smith New York Islanders
1982 Rick Wamsley/Denis Herron Montreal Canadiens


Search for NHL Merchandise


Search for NHL Memorabilia

National Hockey League logo NHL.com is the official Web site of the National Hockey League.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. (c) 2008 NHL. All Rights Reserved.
Advertise  |  Privacy Policy  |  Online Transmission Policy
Copyright Policy |  Terms of Service |  Update Your Profile
NHL Shop | FAQ | CBA | Feedback | Community | Jobs | Game Notes
digg this Digg   del.icio.us Del.icio.us   RSS