An annual award “to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team.” Winner selected in a poll by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association in the 30 NHL cities at the end of the regular schedule. History: The Hart Memorial Trophy was presented by the National Hockey League in 1960 after the original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The original Hart Trophy was donated to the NHL in 1924 by Dr. David A. Hart, father of Cecil Hart, former manager-coach of the Montreal Canadiens. Right winger Patrick Kane is the winner of the Hart Memorial Trophy. Kane is the first American-born winner of the NHL MVP Award and the first Chicago player to win it since Stan Mikita in 1968. Kane received 121 first-place votes and appeared on all 150 ballots cast. He received 22 second-place votes, five third-place votes and two fourth-place votes for a total of 1,395 points. Sidney Crosby of Pittsburgh was named on 145 ballots, with 11 first-place votes, 64 seconds, 31 thirds, 24 fourths and 15 fifth-place votes for a total of 800 points. Jamie Benn of Dallas received eight first-place votes and had 637 points to finish in third place. Braden Holtby of Washington (eight first-place votes, 292 points), Joe Thornton of San Jose (zero, 267), Alex Ovechkin of Washington (two, 212), Florida’s Jaromir Jagr (one, 60), the Kings’ Anze Kopitar (one, 53) Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson (zero, 44) and Ben Bishop of Tampa Bay (one, 42) round out the top ten. Kane, who also won the Art Ross Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award, posted career highs in goals (46), assists (60) and points (106) to power the Blackhawks to their eighth straight playoff appearance. He notched at least one point in 64 of his 82 contests (78.0 percent), highlighted by a 26-game streak from October 17 to December 13 (16 goals, 24 assists, 40 points) which was a franchise record, the longest by a U.S.-born player in NHL history and the longest by any player since Mats Sundin had a 30-game scoring streak in 1992-93.
The Hart Memorial Trophy was presented by the National Hockey League in 1960 after the original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The original Hart Trophy was donated to the NHL in 1923 by Dr. David A. Hart, father of Cecil Hart, former manager-coach of the Montreal Canadiens.
2014-2015 Carey Price Canadiens
2013-2014 Sidney Crosby Penguins Ryan Getzlaf
2012-2013 Alex Ovechkin Capitals Sidney Crosby
2011-2012 Evgeni Malkin Penguins Steven Stamkos
2010-2011 Corey Perry Ducks
2009-2010 Henrik Sedin Canucks Alex Ovechkin
2008-2009 Alex Ovechkin Capitals Evgeni Malkin
2007-2008 Alex Ovechkin Capitals Evgeni Malkin
2006-2007 Sidney Crosby Penguins Roberto Luongo
2005-2006 Joe Thornton Sharks Jaromir Jagr
2003-2004 Martin St. Louis Lightning Jarome Iginla
2002-2003 Peter Forsberg Avalanche Markus Naslund
2001-2002 Jose Theodore Canadiens Jarome Iginla
2000-2001 Joe Sakic Avalanche Mario Lemieux
1999-2000 Chris Pronger Blues Jaromir Jagr
1998-1999 Jaromir Jagr Penguins Alexei Yashin
1997-1998 Dominik Hasek Sabres Jaromir Jagr
1996-1997 Dominik Hasek Sabres Paul Kariya
1995-1996 Mario Lemieux Penguins Mark Messier
1994-1995 Eric Lindros Flyers Jaromir Jagr
1993-1994 Sergei Fedorov Red Wings Dominik Hasek
1992-1993 Mario Lemieux Penguins Doug Gilmour
1991-1992 Mark Messier Rangers Patrick Roy
1990-1991 Brett Hull Blues Wayne Gretzky
1989-1990 Mark Messier Oilers Ray Bourque
1988-1989 Wayne Gretzky Kings Mario Lemieux
1987-1988 Mario Lemieux Penguins Grant Fuhr
1986-1987 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Ray Bourque
1985-1986 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Mario Lemieux
1984-1985 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Dale Hawerchuk
1983-1984 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Rod Langway
1982-1983 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Pete Peeters
1981-1982 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Bryan Trottier
1980-1981 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Mike Liut
1979-1980 Wayne Gretzky Oilers Marcel Dionne
1978-1979 Bryan Trottier Islanders Guy Lafleur
1977-1978 Guy Lafleur Canadiens Bryan Trottier
1976-1977 Guy Lafleur Canadiens Bobby Clarke
1975-1976 Bobby Clarke Flyers Denis Potvin
1974-1975 Bobby Clarke Flyers Rogie Vachon
1973-1974 Phil Esposito Bruins Bernie Parent
1972-1973 Bobby Clarke Flyers Phil Esposito
1971-1972 Bobby Orr Bruins Ken Dryden
1970-1971 Bobby Orr Bruins Phil Esposito
1969-1970 Bobby Orr Bruins Tony Esposito
1968-1969 Phil Esposito Bruins Jean Beliveau
1967-1968 Stan Mikita Blackhawks Jean Beliveau
1966-1967 Stan Mikita Blackhawks Ed Giacomin
1965-1966 Bobby Hull Blackhawks Jean Beliveau
1964-1965 Bobby Hull Blackhawks Norm Ullman
1963-1964 Jean Beliveau Canadiens Bobby Hull
1962-1963 Gordie Howe Red Wings Stan Mikita
1961-1962 Jacques Plante Canadiens Doug Harvey
1960-1961 Bernie Geoffrion Canadiens Johnny Bower
1959-1960 Gordie Howe Red Wings Bobby Hull
1958-1959 Andy Bathgate Rangers Gordie Howe
1957-1958 Gordie Howe Red Wings Andy Bathgate
1956-1957 Gordie Howe Red Wings Jean Beliveau
1955-1956 Jean Beliveau Canadiens Tod Sloan
1954-1955 Ted Kennedy Maple Leafs Harry Lumley
1953-1954 Al Rollins Blackhawks Red Kelly
1952-1953 Gordie Howe Red Wings Al Rollins
1951-1952 Gordie Howe Red Wings Elmer Lach
1950-1951 Milt Schmidt Bruins Maurice Richard
1949-1950 Chuck Rayner Rangers Ted Kennedy
1948-1949 Sid Abel Red Wings Bill Durnan
1947-1948 Buddy O'Connor Rangers Frank Brimsek
1946-1947 Maurice Richard Canadiens Milt Schmidt
1945-1946 Max Bentley Blackhawks Gaye Stewart
1944-1945 Elmer Lach Canadiens Maurice Richard
1943-1944 Babe Pratt Maple Leafs Bill Cowley
1942-1943 Bill Cowley Bruins Doug Bentley
1941-1942 Tom Anderson Americans Syl Apps
1940-1941 Bill Cowley Bruins Dit Clapper
1939-1940 Ebbie Goodfellow Red Wings Syl Apps
1938-1939 Toe Blake Canadiens Syl Apps
1937-1938 Eddie Shore Bruins Paul Thompson
1936-1937 Babe Siebert Canadiens Lionel Conacher
1935-1936 Eddie Shore Bruins Hooley Smith
1934-1935 Eddie Shore Bruins Charlie Conacher
1933-1934 Aurel Joliat Canadiens Lionel Conacher
1932-1933 Eddie Shore Bruins Bill Cook
1931-1932 Howie Morenz Canadiens Ivan Johnson
1930-1931 Howie Morenz Canadiens Eddie Shore
1929-1930 Nels Stewart Maroons Lionel Hitchman
1928-1929 Roy Worters Americans Ace Bailey
1927-1928 Howie Morenz Canadiens Roy Worters
1926-1927 Herb Gardiner Canadiens Bill Cook
1925-1926 Nels Stewart Maroons Sprague Cleghorn
1924-1925 Billy Burch Tigers Howie Morenz
1923-1924 Frank Nighbor Senators (1917) Sprague Cleghorn