An annual award presented to "an NHL player who applies the core values of hockey -- commitment, perseverance and teamwork -- to enrich the lives of people in his community." In recognition of this dedication, the NHL Foundation annually awards $25,000 to a current player's charity.
NHL players have a long-standing tradition of supporting charities and other important causes in their communities. NHL member clubs are constant in their quest to help local schools, hospitals and charitable organizations. Clubs submit nominations for the NHL Foundation Player Award and the finalists are selected by a judging panel. This award was first presented in 1998.
2014-2015 Brent Burns Sharks
2012-2013 Henrik Zetterberg Red Wings
2011-2012 Mike Fisher Predators
2010-2011 Dustin Brown Kings
2009-2010 Ryan Miller Sabres
2008-2009 Rick Nash Blue Jackets
2007-2008 Vincent Lecavalier Lightning
2007-2008 Trevor Linden Canucks
2006-2007 Joe Sakic Avalanche
2005-2006 Marty Turco Stars
2003-2004 Jarome Iginla Flames
2002-2003 Darren McCarty Red Wings
2001-2002 Ron Francis Hurricanes
2000-2001 Olie Kolzig Capitals
1999-2000 Adam Graves Rangers
1998-1999 Robert Ray Sabres
1997-1998 Kelly Chase Blues