The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the “most outstanding player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players ’ Association. The winner receives $20,000, and the two finalists receive $10,000 each to donate to the grassroots hockey program of their choice, through the NHLPA’s Goals & Dreams Fund. History: On April 29, 2010, the Ted Lindsay Award was introduced to recognize Lindsay’s pioneering efforts in the establishment of the NHL Players’ Association. Carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award, it remains the only award voted on by the players themselves. The award was originally created in 1971 in honor of the late Lester B. Pearson, former Prime Minister of Canada. Right winger Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks is the winner of the Ted Lindsay Award. In the 45th season of the “Most Outstanding Player” award being been presented, Kane becomes the first U.S.-born player to receive the honor, as well as the first recipient in Blackhawks history. During the 2015-16 NHL regular season, Kane led the league in points (106) to also earn his first Art Ross Trophy. He finished first in points-per-game (1.29), first in power-play points (37), second in goals (46), tied for second in power-play goals (17), tied for second in game-winning goals (9), and ranked third in assists (60). Kane ’s totals in goals, assists and points all set career highs and he helped lead the Blackhawks to the playoffs for the eighth consecutive season.
The award was first presented in 1970-71 by the NHLPA in honor of the late Lester B. Pearson, former Prime Minister of Canada.
2014-2015 Carey Price Canadiens
2013-2014 Sidney Crosby Penguins
2012-2013 Sidney Crosby Penguins
2011-2012 Evgeni Malkin Penguins
2010-2011 Daniel Sedin Canucks
2009-2010 Alex Ovechkin Capitals
2008-2009 Alex Ovechkin Capitals
2007-2008 Alex Ovechkin Capitals
2006-2007 Sidney Crosby Penguins
2005-2006 Jaromir Jagr Rangers
2003-2004 Martin St. Louis Lightning
2002-2003 Markus Naslund Canucks
2001-2002 Jarome Iginla Flames
2000-2001 Joe Sakic Avalanche
1999-2000 Jaromir Jagr Penguins
1998-1999 Jaromir Jagr Penguins
1997-1998 Dominik Hasek Sabres
1996-1997 Dominik Hasek Sabres
1995-1996 Mario Lemieux Penguins
1994-1995 Eric Lindros Flyers
1993-1994 Sergei Fedorov Red Wings
1992-1993 Mario Lemieux Penguins
1991-1992 Mark Messier Rangers
1990-1991 Brett Hull Blues
1989-1990 Mark Messier Oilers
1988-1989 Steve Yzerman Red Wings
1987-1988 Mario Lemieux Penguins
1986-1987 Wayne Gretzky Oilers
1985-1986 Mario Lemieux Penguins
1984-1985 Wayne Gretzky Oilers
1983-1984 Wayne Gretzky Oilers
1982-1983 Wayne Gretzky Oilers
1981-1982 Wayne Gretzky Oilers
1980-1981 Mike Liut Blues
1979-1980 Marcel Dionne Kings
1978-1979 Marcel Dionne Kings
1977-1978 Guy Lafleur Canadiens
1976-1977 Guy Lafleur Canadiens
1975-1976 Guy Lafleur Canadiens
1974-1975 Bobby Orr Bruins
1973-1974 Bobby Clarke Flyers
1972-1973 Phil Esposito Bruins
1971-1972 Jean Ratelle Rangers
1970-1971 Phil Esposito Bruins