Washington Capitals Vancouver Canucks Toronto Maple Leafs Tampa Bay Lightning St. Louis Blues San Jose Sharks Pittsburgh Penguins Phoenix Coyotes Philadelphia Flyers Ottawa Senators New York Rangers New York Islanders New Jersey Devils Nashville Predators Montreal Canadiens Minnesota Wild Los Angeles Kings Florida Panthers Edmonton Oilers Detroit Red Wings Dallas Stars Columbus Blue Jackets Colorado Avalanche Chicago Blackhawks Carolina Hurricanes Calgary Flames Buffalo Sabres Boston Bruins Atlanta Thrashers Anaheim Ducks

First Overall Selections
Year Player Pos Team Drafted From Age (Yrs.Mos)
2008 Steven Stamkos C TBL Sarnia Sting (OHL) 18.4
2007 Patrick Kane RW CHI London (OHL) 18.7
2006 Erik Johnson D STL US NAT'L U-18 18.3
2005 Sidney Crosby C PIT Rimouski (QMJHL) 17.11
2004 Alexander Ovechkin LW WAS Dynamo Moscow (Russia) 18.9
2003 Marc-Andre Fleury G PIT Cape Breton (QMJHL) 18.5
2002 Rick Nash LW CBJ London Knights (OHL) 18.0
2001 Ilya Kovalchuk LW ATL Spartak (Rus.) 18.2
2000 Rick DiPietro G NYI Boston University 18.9
1999 Patrik Stefan C ATL Long Beach Ice Dogs (IHL) 18.9
1998 Vincent Lecavalier C TB Rimouski Oceanic 18.2
1997 Joe Thornton C BOS Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 17.11
1996 Chris Phillips D OTT Prince Albert Raiders 18.3
1995 Bryan Berard D OTT Detroit Jr. Red Wings 18.4
1994 Ed Jovanovski D FLA Windsor Spitfires 18
1993 Alexandre Daigle C OTT Victoriaville Tigres 18.5
1992 Roman Hamrlik D TB ZPS Zlin (Czechoslovakia) 18.2
1991 Eric Lindros C QUE Oshawa Generals 18.3
1990 Owen Nolan RW QUE Cornwall Royals 18.4
1989 Mats Sundin RW QUE Nacka (Sweden) 18.4
1988 Mike Modano C MIN Prince Albert Raiders 18
1987 Pierre Turgeon C BUF Granby Bisons 17.10
1986 Joe Murphy C DET Michigan State 18.8
1985 Wendel Clark LW/D TOR Saskatoon Blades 18.7
1984 Mario Lemieux C PIT Laval Voisins 18.8
1983 Brian Lawton C MIN Mount St. Charles HS 18.11
1982 Gord Kluzak D BOS Nanaimo Islanders 18.3
1981 Dale Hawerchuk C WPG Cornwall Royals 18.2
1980 Doug Wickenheiser C MTL Regina Pats 19.2
1979 Rob Ramage D COL London Knights 20.5
1978 Bobby Smith C MIN Ottawa 67's 20.4
1977 Dale McCourt C DET St. Catharines Fincups 20.4
1976 Rick Green D WSH London Knights 20.3
1975 Mel Bridgman C PHI Victoria Cougars 20.1
1974 Greg Joly D WSH Regina Pats 20
1973 Denis Potvin D NYI Ottawa 67's 19.7
1972 Bill Harris RW NYI Toronto Marlboros 20.4
1971 Guy Lafleur RW MTL Quebec Remparts 19.9
1970 Gilbert Perreault C BUF Montreal Jr. Canadiens 19.7
1969 Rejean Houle LW MTL Montreal Jr. Canadiens 19.8
1968 Michel Plasse G MTL Drummondville Rangers 20
1967 Rick Pagnutti D LA Garson Native Sons N/A
1966 Barry Gibbs D BOS Estevan Bruins 17.7
1965 Andre Veilleux RW NYR Montreal Ranger Jr. B N/A
1964 Claude Gauthier N/A DET Comite des jeunes (Rosemont) N/A
1963 Garry Monahan LW MTL St. Michael's Juveniles 16.7



Search for NHL Merchandise


Search for NHL Memorabilia

National Hockey League logo NHL.com is the official Web site of the National Hockey League.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. (c) 2008 NHL. All Rights Reserved.
Advertise  |  Privacy Policy  |  Online Transmission Policy
Copyright Policy |  Terms of Service |  Update Your Profile
NHL Shop | FAQ | CBA | Feedback | Community | Jobs | Game Notes
digg this Digg   del.icio.us Del.icio.us   RSS