We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
Username or EmailPassword

Crosby, Ovechkin, St. Louis named Lindsay finalists

Thursday, 05.09.2013 / 10:00 AM / 2013 NHL Awards

By Adam Kimelman - NHL.com Deputy Managing Editor

Share with your Friends

Crosby, Ovechkin, St. Louis named Lindsay finalists
Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin and Martin St. Louis were announced Thursday as the finalists for the 2013 Ted Lindsay Award.

Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, the Washington Capitals' Alex Ovechkin and Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning were announced Thursday as the finalists for the 2013 Ted Lindsay Award.

The award is presented annually to the most outstanding player in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association.

Crosby, who previously won the award in 2007, finished tied for third in the League in scoring with 56 points, but led the League with a 1.56 points-per-game average. He was limited to 36 games due to a broken jaw, and despite not playing a regular-season game after March 30, wasn't overtaken for the League scoring lead until the final week of the season. He also had 15 goals and a career-best plus-26 rating.

"Not to take anything away from the other awards, but to be recognized by other players you compete against is definitely a compliment," Crosby said. "I try to go out and do my best and if they recognize or see me that way, I definitely appreciate it. Unfortunately I missed a bit of the season, but to still be recognized is definitely an honor."

Ovechkin won the Rocket Richard Trophy for the third time after scoring a League-best 32 goals. He also topped the League with 16 power-play goals, and tied Crosby for third in the League with 56 points. Ovechkin was at his best when the Capitals were pushing for a Southeast Division title, totaling 22 goals and 41 points in his final 29 games. Ovechkin is one of only five players to win the award three times, a group that includes Wayne Gretzky (five times) Mario Lemieux (four), Jaromir Jagr (three) and Guy Lafleur (three).

St. Louis won his second Art Ross Trophy this season, topping the League with 60 points in 48 games. At age 37, he's the oldest player in League history to win the award, and he became one of three players in League history to average at least 1.25 points per game at 37 or older, joining Mario Lemieux (2002-03) and Gordie Howe (1968-69). St. Louis also led the League with 43 assists, and had 17 goals, second on the Lightning. He previously won the award in 2004, also the other season he won the Art Ross Trophy.


Quote of the Day

The groove of being behind a bench is going to be interesting at first, but thank God we have a few exhibition games to get rid of those cobwebs. Overall the excitement of it all and the freshness and coming back refreshed, all those things are going to be assets. If [the players] come ready to give their best effort in practice and games, good things are going to happen. I'm always looking for results. It's not always on the scoreboard. It's winning and building something.

— Bryan Trottier on making his return to coaching as an assistant with the Sabres