NHL.com official compliance buyout tracker

Monday, 06.30.2014 / 8:35 PM NHL.com

Under the provisions of the current Collective Bargaining Agreement, each team is allowed two compliance buyouts before the start of the 2014-15 season. The buyouts must occur during windows of time specified by the CBA.

The first opportunity for compliance buyouts was from June 26 to July 4, 2013. The second compliance buyout window opened Monday, June 16, 2014 and ends on Monday, June 30 at 5 p.m. ET. Any player receiving a compliance buyout receives two-thirds of the remaining contract across twice the remaining term of the deal, but his salary-cap charge to the team is wiped clean. The bought-out players are granted unrestricted free agency and are eligible to sign with any team, other than the one which bought out the player.

Clubs have bought out or announced their intention to buy out the following players:

Team Players



Buffalo F Ville Leino, D Christian Ehrhoff

Calgary D Shane O'Brien


Chicago D Steve Montador, LW Rostislav Olesz



Dallas D Aaron Rome

Detroit D Carlo Colaiacovo

Edmonton F Eric Belanger

Florida D Ed Jovanovski

Los Angeles

Minnesota D Tom Gilbert

Montreal C Scott Gomez, D Tomas Kaberle


New Jersey G Johan Hedberg, D Anton Volchenkov

NY Islanders G Rick DiPietro

NY Rangers D Wade Redden, F Brad Richards


Philadelphia C Danny Briere, G Ilya Bryzgalov



San Jose

St. Louis

Tampa Bay C Vincent Lecavalier, F Ryan Malone

Toronto D Mike Komisarek, F Mikhail Grabovski

Vancouver D Keith Ballard, F David Booth

Washington D Jeff Schultz


Back to top