The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community
The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is named in honour of Francis M. "King" Clancy, a former player for the Ottawa Senators and Toronto Maple Leafs who later went on to become a coach, referee, and team executive. The trophy was first awarded in 1988, and was presented to the National Hockey League by its board of governors.
Season Winner Team Runner-Up
2013-2014 Andrew Ference Oilers
2012-2013 Patrice Bergeron Bruins
2011-2012 Daniel Alfredsson Senators
2010-2011 Doug Weight Islanders
2009-2010 Shane Doan Coyotes
2008-2009 Ethan Moreau Oilers
2007-2008 Vincent Lecavalier Lightning
2006-2007 Saku Koivu Canadiens
2005-2006 Olie Kolzig Capitals
2003-2004 Jarome Iginla Flames
2002-2003 Brendan Shanahan Red Wings
2001-2002 Ron Francis Hurricanes
2000-2001 Shjon Podein Avalanche
1999-2000 Curtis Joseph Maple Leafs
1998-1999 Robert Ray Sabres
1997-1998 Kelly Chase Blues
1996-1997 Trevor Linden Canucks
1995-1996 Kris King Jets (1979)
1994-1995 Joe Nieuwendyk Flames
1993-1994 Adam Graves Rangers
1992-1993 David Poulin Bruins
1991-1992 Ray Bourque Bruins
1990-1991 Dave Taylor Kings
1989-1990 Kevin Lowe Oilers
1988-1989 Bryan Trottier Islanders
1987-1988 Lanny McDonald Flames