We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
An annual award presented "to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualitites to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season." Suggestions for nominees are solicited from fans, clubs and NHL personnel, but the selection of the three finalists and the ultimate winner is made by Mark Messier himself.
Presented by Bridgestone in honor of one of hockey?s great leaders, this award was first handed out in 2007.
Season Winner Team Runner-Up
2013-2014 Dustin Brown Kings
2012-2013 Daniel Alfredsson Senators
2011-2012 Shane Doan Coyotes
2010-2011 Zdeno Chara Bruins
2009-2010 Sidney Crosby Penguins
2008-2009 Jarome Iginla Flames
2007-2008 Mats Sundin Maple Leafs
2006-2007 Chris Chelios Red Wings