The Jack Adams Award is an annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team's success. The winner is selected in a poll among members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association at the end of the regular season. The award was presented by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in 1974 to commemorate the late Jack Adams, former coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings. His lifetime dedication to hockey has served as an inspiration to all who aspire to further the game. Jacques Demers is the only coach who has won the award in consecutive seasons. Four coaches in history have won the award with 2 different teams. Jacques Lemaire, Pat Quinn, and Scotty Bowman have won the award twice, while Pat Burns is the only coach to win the award three times. The franchises with the most Jack Adams Award winners are the Philadelphia Flyers and Detroit Red Wings, with four winners, followed by the St. Louis Blues and Phoenix Coyotes with three, although the Coyotes had two winners in Winnipeg before they moved to Arizona. Bill Barber and Bruce Boudreau are the only coaches to win the award after replacing the head coach who started the season. Barber took over for Craig Ramsay during the 2000–01 season, while Boudreau replaced Glen Hanlon, a month into the 2007–08 season. The closest vote ever occurred in 2006, when the winner Lindy Ruff edged out Peter Laviolette by a single point.
The Jack Adams Award is named in honour of Jack Adams, Hall of Fame player for Toronto, Vancouver and Ottawa, and long-time coach and general manager of theDetroit Red Wings. It was first awarded at the conclusion of the 1973Ð74 regular season.
2014-2015 Bob Hartley Flames
2013-2014 Patrick Roy Avalanche
2012-2013 Paul MacLean Senators
2011-2012 Ken Hitchcock Blues
2010-2011 Dan Bylsma Penguins
2009-2010 Dave Tippett Coyotes
2008-2009 Claude Julien Bruins
2007-2008 Bruce Boudreau Capitals
2006-2007 Alain Vigneault Canucks
2005-2006 Lindy Ruff Sabres
2003-2004 John Tortorella Lightning
2002-2003 Jacques Lemaire Wild
2001-2002 Bob Francis Coyotes
2000-2001 Bill Barber Flyers
1999-2000 Joel Quenneville Blues
1998-1999 Jacques Martin Senators
1997-1998 Pat Burns Bruins
1996-1997 Ted Nolan Sabres
1995-1996 Scotty Bowman Red Wings
1994-1995 Marc Crawford Nordiques
1993-1994 Jacques Lemaire Devils
1992-1993 Pat Burns Maple Leafs
1991-1992 Pat Quinn Canucks
1990-1991 Brian Sutter Blues
1989-1990 Bob Murdoch Jets (1979)
1988-1989 Pat Burns Canadiens
1987-1988 Jacques Demers Red Wings
1986-1987 Jacques Demers Red Wings
1985-1986 Glen Sather Oilers
1984-1985 Mike Keenan Flyers
1983-1984 Bryan Murray Capitals
1982-1983 Orval Tessier Blackhawks
1981-1982 Tom Watt Jets (1979)
1980-1981 Red Berenson Blues
1979-1980 Pat Quinn Flyers
1978-1979 Al Arbour Islanders
1977-1978 Bobby Kromm Red Wings
1976-1977 Scotty Bowman Canadiens
1975-1976 Don Cherry Bruins
1974-1975 Bob Pulford Kings
1973-1974 Fred Shero Flyers