The Maurice "Rocket" Richard Tropy, also known as the Maurice Richard Trophy is awarded annually to the leading goal scorer.
The Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy was donated by the Montreal Canadiens to the NHL in 1999, and was first awarded at the end of the 1998Ð99 season. It is one of the newest of the NHLs trophies and is named in honour of the legendary right winger Maurice "Rocket" Richard, who spent his eighteen-season career with the Canadiens. He led the NHL in goal scoring five times and was the first NHL player to reach the 500 goal milestone. In 1944Ð45, Richard became the first player in NHL history to score 50 goals in one season, doing so in just 50 games, the latter feat only achieved by a handful of players since then. However, the scoring title eluded Richard, and the closest that he got to it was in 1954.
2014-2015 Alex Ovechkin Capitals Steven Stamkos
2013-2014 Alex Ovechkin Capitals Corey Perry
2012-2013 Alex Ovechkin Capitals Steven Stamkos
2011-2012 Steven Stamkos Lightning Evgeni Malkin
2010-2011 Corey Perry Ducks Steven Stamkos
2009-2010 Steven Stamkos Lightning
2009-2010 Sidney Crosby Penguins
2008-2009 Alex Ovechkin Capitals
2007-2008 Alex Ovechkin Capitals
2006-2007 Vincent Lecavalier Lightning
2005-2006 Jonathan Cheechoo Sharks
2003-2004 Ilya Kovalchuk Thrashers
2003-2004 Rick Nash Blue Jackets
2003-2004 Jarome Iginla Flames
2002-2003 Milan Hejduk Avalanche
2001-2002 Jarome Iginla Flames
2000-2001 Pavel Bure Panthers
1999-2000 Pavel Bure Panthers
1998-1999 Teemu Selanne Ducks