An annual award “for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.” Eligible recipients are players, officials, coaches, executives and referees. Winners are selected by an award committee consisting of the commissioner of the NHL, an NHL governor, a representative of the New York Rangers, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame builder’s section, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame player’s section, a member of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, a member of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association and a member of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. Each except the League Commissioner is rotated annually. The winner receives a miniature of the trophy. History: Presented by the New York Rangers in 1966 to honor the late Lester Patrick, longtime general manager and coach of the New York Rangers, whose teams finished out of the playoffs only once in his first 16 years with the club. Bob Crocker is the dean of New England hockey scouts. A graduate of Boston University, he later coached the team’s first-year recruits before becoming head coach at Penn from 1973 to 1976. He then put in 15 years as an assistant general manager with the Hartford Whalers. Since then, he has been a scout for the New York Rangers and Los Angeles Kings, helping to win the Stanley Cup in 1994, 2012 and 2014. Jeremy Jacobs has owned the Boston Bruins since 1975 and is one of the most respected sports business leaders in the world. He has served as Chairman of the NHL Board of Governors since 2007 and serves on its Executive Committee. Jacobs is frequently cited as one of the most influential people in sports business.
The Lester Patrick Trophy was presented by the New York Rangers in 1966. It honors the late Lester Patrick, who was a general manager and coach of the club. It is presented annually for "outstanding service to hockey in the United States". Players, coaches, referees, and executives are eligible to receive the trophy. The winners are chosen by a committee consisting various officials, including the Commissioner (previously President) of the NHL, an NHL Governor, a representative of the New York Rangers, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Builders section, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Players section, a member of the U. S. Hockey Hall of Fame, a member of the NHL Broadcasters Association and a member of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.
2010-2011 Bob Pulford
2010-2011 Tony Rossi
2010-2011 Jeff Sauer
2010-2011 Mark Johnson
2009-2010 Jerry York
2009-2010 Jack Parker
2009-2010 Cam Neely
2009-2010 Dave Andrews
2008-2009 Mike Richter
2008-2009 Jim Devellano
2008-2009 Mark Messier
2007-2008 Ted Lindsay
2007-2008 Bob Naegele Jr.
2007-2008 Phil Housley
2007-2008 Brian Burke
2006-2007 Stan Fischler
2006-2007 John Halligan
2006-2007 Cammi Granato
2006-2007 Brian Leetch
2005-2006 Steve Yzerman
2005-2006 Reed Larson
2005-2006 Glen Sonmor
2005-2006 Marcel Dionne
2005-2006 Red Berenson
2003-2004 Ray Miron
2003-2004 Mike Emrick
2003-2004 John Davidson
2002-2003 Willie O'Ree
2002-2003 Ron DeGregorio
2002-2003 Ray Bourque
2001-2002 1960 U.S. Olympic Team
2001-2002 Larry Pleau
2001-2002 Herb Brooks
2000-2001 David Poile
2000-2001 Scotty Bowman
2000-2001 Gary Bettman
1999-2000 Lou Vairo
1999-2000 Craig Patrick
1999-2000 Mario Lemieux
1998-1999 1998 U.S. Olympic Women's Team
1998-1999 Harry Sinden
1997-1998 John Mayasich
1997-1998 Max McNab
1997-1998 Peter Karmanos
1997-1998 Neal Broten
1996-1997 Pat LaFontaine
1996-1997 Seymour H. Knox III
1996-1997 Bill Cleary
1995-1996 Ken Morrow
1995-1996 Milt Schmidt
1995-1996 George Gund
1994-1995 Joe Mullen
1994-1995 Brian Mullen
1994-1995 Robert Fleming
1993-1994 Robert Ridder
1993-1994 Wayne Gretzky
1992-1993 Bruce McNall
1992-1993 Gil Stein
1992-1993 Red Dutton
1992-1993 Frank Boucher
1991-1992 Lou Lamoriello
1991-1992 Art Berglund
1991-1992 Al Arbour
1990-1991 Mike Ilitch
1990-1991 Rod Gilbert
1989-1990 Len Ceglarski
1988-1989 Bud Poile
1988-1989 Lynn Patrick
1988-1989 Lou Nanne
1988-1989 Dan Kelly
1987-1988 Fred Cusick
1987-1988 Bob Johnson
1987-1988 Keith Allen
1986-1987 Frank Mathers
1986-1987 Hobey Baker
1985-1986 Jack Riley
1985-1986 John MacInnes
1984-1985 Arthur M. Wirtz
1984-1985 Jack Butterfield
1983-1984 John A. Ziegler Jr.
1983-1984 Art Ross
1982-1983 Bill Torrey
1981-1982 Emile Francis
1980-1981 Charles M. Schulz
1979-1980 Edward M. Snider
1979-1980 1980 U.S. Olympic Team
1979-1980 Fred Shero
1979-1980 Bobby Clarke
1978-1979 Bobby Orr
1977-1978 William W. Wirtz
1977-1978 William T. Tutt
1977-1978 Tom Fitzgerald
1977-1978 Phil Esposito
1976-1977 Johnny Bucyk
1976-1977 John Mariucci
1976-1977 Murray Armstrong
1975-1976 Stan Mikita
1975-1976 Bruce A. Norris
1975-1976 George A. Leader
1974-1975 Donald M. Clark
1974-1975 Thomas N. Ivan
1974-1975 William L. Chadwick
1973-1974 Murray Murdoch
1973-1974 Charles L. Crovat
1973-1974 Alex Delvecchio
1973-1974 Weston W. Adams Sr.
1972-1973 Walter L. Bush Jr.
1971-1972 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland
1971-1972 John A. "Snooks" Kelly
1971-1972 James D. Norris
1971-1972 Clarence S. Campbell
1970-1971 Terry Sawchuk
1970-1971 John B. Sollenberger
1970-1971 Bill Jennings
1969-1970 Eddie Shore
1969-1970 James C. V. Hendy
1968-1969 Edward J. Jeremiah
1968-1969 Bobby Hull
1967-1968 Gen. John R. Kilpatrick
1967-1968 Thomas F. Lockhart
1967-1968 Walter A. Brown
1966-1967 Gordie Howe
1966-1967 James Norris Sr.
1966-1967 Charles F. Adams
1965-1966 Jack Adams