We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE

CHI @ PHI - 13:48 of the Third Period

Tuesday, 03.18.2014 / 10:11 PM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2013-2014 Situation Room blog
CHI @ PHI - 13:48 of the Third Period

At 13:48 of the third period in the Chicago Blackhawks/Philadelphia Flyers game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Chicago net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Vincent Lecavalier's stick was above the normal height of his shoulders when he deflected the puck to teammate Brayden Schenn, who then shot the puck into the Chicago net. According to Rule 80.1 "Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulders with a stick is prohibited. When a puck is struck with a high stick and subsequently comes into the possession and control of a player from the offending team, either directly or deflected off any player or official, there shall be a whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands, no goal Philadelphia.

Quote of the Day

I downplayed the first one because I thought it's just a hockey game. We just want to win the game; it's against our rival and we want the two points. I downplayed it, but now having gone through the first one I look back and say, 'Geez, that was really cool.' I think as I've grown a bit older I've got a lot more appreciation for what we're allowed to do every day.

— Capitals forward Brooks Laich on the 2015 NHL Bridgestone Winter Classic, the second one of his career after 2011 in Pittsburgh