SHARE
Stanley Cup Final

MTL @ PHI - 13:25 of the Third Period

Thursday, 12.12.2013 / 9:29 PM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2013-2014 Situation Room blog
MTL @ PHI - 13:25 of the Third Period

At 13:25 of the third period in the Canadiens/Flyers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Montreal forward Brian Gionta used his left hand to direct the puck into the Philadelphia net. According to Rule 67.6 "a goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net". No goal Montreal.

Quote of the Day

That's a really tough thing to play through; when you finally are thrown out there, the game is fast, intense, every single play matters, you've got to find a way to play through that and make smart plays. So it's a huge testament to [Vermette] and some other individuals in our locker room that are putting their own ego, their own wants and needs aside, and are ready for those opportunities when they do come.

— Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews on teammate Antoine Vermette, who returned from being a healthy scratch in Game 3 to score the double-overtime winner in Game 4