Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Zucker named a finalist for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

Wild forward is among the final three for a second consecutive season

by Minnesota Wild @MNWildScribe /

ST. PAUL -- The National Hockey League (NHL) today announced Minnesota Wild forward Jason Zucker is a finalist for the 2019 King Clancy Memorial Trophy, awarded to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community. The winner of the 2019 King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be revealed at the 2019 NHL Awards™ presented by Bridgestone on Wednesday, June 19 at Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas at 7 p.m. CT on NBCSN.

Zucker and his wife Carly began a campaign in 2017-18 to raise funds for the Zucker Family Suite and Broadcast Studio at the University of Minnesota Masonic Children's Hospital in Minneapolis, growing out of the couple's special relationship with the hospital and its patients. The #GIVE16 campaign started with a $160,000 donation by the Zuckers and has raised over $1.2 million. The Zucker Family Suite and Broadcast Studio opened on March 25, 2019 and allows children and their families to watch Wild games in a setting that simulates the experience of being at the game. It also serves as a state-of-the-art broadcast studio.

Video: Zucker Family Suite and Broadcast Studio unveiling

As a way to give back to the community and supporters of the Zucker Family Suite and Broadcast Studio, the Zuckers partnered with the Minnesota Wild and local companies to host GIVE16 Suite Night on Nov. 21, 2018. The Zuckers filled 16 suites with non-profits, charitable organizations and community groups for a special night at a Wild game. Jason partnered with St. Paul clothing brand UNRL to co-design custom hats for each of the last 16 games of the 2018-19 season. The GIVE16 and UNRL partnership led to a $16,000 donation to the Zucker Family Suite and Broadcast Studio as over 2,000 hats and apparel items were sold. Jason also served as a team ambassador for the NHL's Hockey Is For Everyone initiative this season.

Oliver Ekman-Larsson and Henrik Lundqvist are the other finalists for the 2019 King Clancy Memorial Trophy. A committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly will select the winner. The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the winner of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Clear and measurable positive impact on the community; Investment of time and resources; Commitment to a particular cause or community; Commitment to the League's community initiatives (Hockey is for Everyone, Hockey Fights Cancer, Future Goals, Learn to Play, NHL Green, etc.); Creativity of programming and Use of influence, engagement of others. Zucker was also a finalist for the 2018 King Clancy Memorial Trophy.

[Want more Wild headlines? Sign up for e-News]

The first-place finisher will receive a $40,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of the winner's choice and the two runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of their choice.

The trophy was presented in 1988 by the National Hockey League Board of Governors in honor of Frank "King" Clancy, a beloved figure in the NHL for decades as a player, referee, coach, manager and goodwill ambassador. A three-time Stanley Cup champion and 1958 inductee to the Hockey Hall of Fame, Clancy was voted as one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players during the League's Centennial Celebration in 2017.


Video: Zuckers host #Give16 Suite Night 

View More