Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Wild Sends Six Players To Participate In 2016 IIHF World Championship

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

The Minnesota Wild announced that six players will participate in the 2016 IIHF World Championship, May 6-22 in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia. Matt Dumba will play for Canada, Mikael Granlund and Mikko Koivu will play for Finland, Christoph Bertschy (pronounced Burr-chee) and Nino Niederreiter will play for Switzerland and Jordan Schroeder will play for the United States.

The 16 teams are divided into two groups for the Preliminary Round. The top four ranked teams in each group will advance to the quarterfinals that will be played in a cross-over format on May 19. The first-place team in each preliminary-round group will play the fourth-place team in the other group, while the second-place team plays the third-place team of the other group. The semifinals will be held on May 21 and the gold-medal game will be played on May 22. NBC Sports Network will televise and stream (NBC Sports Live Extra) all United States games in the tournament.

Group A Group B
Czech Republic Belarus
Denmark Canada
Kazakhstan Finland
Latvia France
Norway Germany
Russia Hungary
Sweden Slovakia
Switzerland United States

Canada defeated Russia in the gold medal game last year and the United States defeated the Czech Republic in the bronze medal contest.

View More