Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Wild sends five to IIHF World Championship

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild
SAINT PAUL/MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -- The National Hockey League’s (NHL) Minnesota Wild announced today that five players will participate in the 2009 World Hockey Championships in Berne and Zurich-Kloten, Switzerland. Based on preliminary roster submissions, Josh Harding will represent Canada, Morten Madsen will represent Denmark, Antti Miettinen will represent Finland, Peter Olvecky will represent Slovakia and Marek Zidlicky will represent the Czech Republic. Wild Equipment Manager Tony DaCosta will serve in the same role for Team Canada in the tournament.

The World Championships begin Friday, April 24 with each team playing three games against teams in its Group in a round-robin format. After a single round-robin series in each group, the top three teams from each group advance to the Qualification Round while the fourth-placed team in each group moves to the Relegation Round.

The Qualification Round consists of two groups (E=A+D and F=B+C) with six teams each, playing a single round robin. The teams carry the points from the Preliminary Round with the teams that they played and advance with. Teams, which have played in the Preliminary Round, do not meet again in the Qualification Round.

In the Quarterfinals, the first-place team in each Qualification Round group plays the fourth-place team from the other group, while the second-place team plays the third-place team from the other Qualification Round group (1E-4F, 2E-3F, 1F-4E, 2F-3E). The winning teams advance to the semi-finals on May 8. The Bronze Medal Game and Gold Medal Game will be held May 10.

Russia claimed the gold medal last year with a 5-4 overtime win over Canada. Finland claimed the bronze medal and the United States finished sixth.

Group A        Group B        Group C        Group D
Belarus        France         Austria        Czech Republic
Canada         Germany        Latvia         Denmark
Hungary        Russia         Sweden         Finland
Slovakia       Switzerland    United States  Norway   
View More