Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Boudreau, Dubnyk, Suter Named to All-Star Roster

Trio will represent Wild Jan. 27-29 in Los Angeles

by Minnesota Wild @mnwild

SAINT PAUL -- Head coach Bruce Boudreau, goaltender Devan Dubnyk and defenseman Ryan Suter will represent the Minnesota Wild at the 2017 NHL All-Star Weekend Jan. 27-29 at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles, Calif., the League announced today.

Boudreau has guided the Wild to a 25-9-5 record and the best point percentage in the Central Division (.705) in his first season as head coach. Minnesota set franchise records with a 12-game win streak, 13-game point streak (12-0-1) and the most wins in a calendar month (12) in December. In addition, the Wild's 55 points after 39 games are the most in franchise history. Minnesota ranks T-2nd in the NHL in goals allowed (85), third with a plus-38 goal differential and T-5th in goals scored (123). Boudreau is the first head coach in team history to be named to the NHL All-Star Game, and it's the first time in his career he will serve as a coach at the NHL All-Star Game.
He is 434-201-85 (.662) in his 10th season as a NHL head coach and has led his team to eight division titles. Boudreau is the first head coach in NHL history to lead three different teams to win streaks of 11+ games, became the fastest coach in NHL history to reach the 400-win milestone (663 games) on March 5, 2016, and leads active coaches in point percentage. The 2008 Jack Adams Award winner became the fastest coach in modern day NHL history to win 200 games on Nov. 11, 2011, and recorded more wins (184) in his first 300 NHL games than any NHL coach.
Dubnyk, 30 (5/4/86), is 21-7-3 with a 1.80 goals-against average (GAA), a .939 save percentage (SV%) and five shutouts in 31 games this season, leads the NHL in GAA and SV%, and ranks T-1st in shutouts and second in wins. He set franchise records for longest win streak (10 games) and point streak in a single season (14 games, 12-0-2) and helped backstop Minnesota to a franchise-record 12-game win streak last month. Since being acquired by the Wild on Jan. 15, 2015, Dubnyk is 80-42-11 with a 2.05 GAA, .928 SV% and 15 shutouts in 137 games, leading the NHL in games, shutouts, SV% and GAA, and ranking second in wins amongst NHL goalies with at least 75 games played. Dubnyk was awarded the NHL's 2015 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey, was named to the NHL's Second All-Star Team and finished third in Vezina Trophy voting and fourth in Hart Trophy voting. The 6-foot-6, 212-pound native of Regina, Sask., is 150-124-35 with a 2.52 GAA, a .917 SV% and 24 shutouts in 329 career NHL games with Edmonton, Nashville, Arizona and Minnesota. This will be his second straight NHL All-Star Game appearance.
Suter, 30 (1/21/85), has tallied 22 points (5-17=22) in 39 games this season and ranks T-1st in the NHL with a plus-24 rating and second in TOI/game at 27:16. He leads team defensemen and ranks T-15th amongst NHL defensemen (T-4th in Central Division) in scoring. The 6-foot-2, 206-pound native of Madison, Wis., ranks third on the team in blocked shots (48) and fourth in shots on goal (79). The 2013 NHL First All-Star Team selection will be making his third NHL All-Star Game appearance (2015, 2012). Suter ranks first in franchise history with a plus-58 rating and is the all-time leading scorer among team defensemen with 186 points (27-159=186) in 328 contests. Suter has recorded 424 points (65-359=424) a plus-101 rating and 546 penalty minutes (PIM) in 870 career NHL games with Nashville and Minnesota.
The 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game will feature a 3-on-3 All-Star Tournament, showcasing the NHL's most talented star players from each division. The All-Star Tournament will feature three 20-minute games, with star players from each Division making up the four All-Star teams: Pacific, Central, Atlantic, and Metropolitan. Each team will be made up of 11 players from each Division: six forwards, three defensemen and two goaltenders. The 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition will be held on Saturday, Jan. 28 at 6 p.m. CT on NBCSN and the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game takes place on Sunday, Jan. 29 at 2:30 p.m. CT on NBC (KARE 11).
Ten players have been selected to represent the Wild in past NHL All-Star Games: Marian Gaborik (2003, 2008), Filip Kuba and Dwayne Roloson (2004), Brian Rolston (2007), Niklas Backstrom (2009), Brent Burns and Martin Havlat (2011), Mikko Koivu (2012 -- did not play due to injury), Suter (2015) and Dubnyk (2016).

View More