Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Two High School Coaches Given Charlie Stryker Award

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

The National Hockey League’s (NHL) Minnesota Wild, in partnership with 3M, has  announced the recipients of the 2006-07 3M Excellence in Coaching Awards. Coaches were nominated for their efforts and dedication to youth in their communities during 2005-06 and were honored at pre-game ceremonies prior to select Wild games at Xcel Energy Center this past season.

Additionally, the Wild and 3M teamed up to award the Charlie Stryker 3M Coach of the Year honor to Andover's Tom Maeckelbergh (Girls) and Little Falls' Tony Couture (Boys). Maeckelbergh and Couture were honored during an intermission ceremony at the April 5 Wild game. The award is named in honor of Charlie Stryker, a long-time hockey coach instrumental in the development of girl’s hockey at the high school level. Stryker's children presented the awards to Maeckelbergh and Couture.

This is the fourth season that the Minnesota Wild has presented the 3M Excellence in Coaching Award. The award was given to a boys and girls high school hockey coach from each section of both classes (A and AA) in the state during the 2006-07 season. The award honors coaches that display good sportsmanship, provide a positive youth sports experience, teach positive life skills and demonstrate respect for players and officials. Forms were sent to the Minnesota Boy’s and Girl’s High School Coaching Associations and coaches were nominated by their peers.

2006-2007 3M Excellence In Coaching Award Winners
Coach of the Year in bold print

  Boys  Girls
 1A   Kori Pearson (Marshall) Denny Bray (Austin) 
 1AA Randy Schmitz (Lakeville South)  Buck Kochevar (Lakeville North) 
 2A Sheldon Weston (Sauk Rapids)   Keith Revels (Farmington)
 2AA  Jim O'Neill (Cretin-Derham Hall)  Tom Gutterman (St. Paul Blades)
3A  Paul Stanaway (Northfield) Jason Seidl (New Ulm) 
 3AA Bill Lechner (Hill-Murray)   Tom Kulenkamp (Spring Lake Park/SPA)
4A   Tony Couture (Little Falls) Shannon Jacobson (Mahtomedi) 
 4AA  Dave Aus (Blaine) Tom Maeckelbergh (Andover) 
5A  John Hamre (Blake)   Mollie McQuillan (Orono)
 5AA Mike Taylor (Eagan)  Chuck Scanlon (Apple Valley) 
 6A  Steve Brown (Delano)  Mitch Loch (Alexandria)
 6AA Ken Pauly (Minnetonka)  Tim Morris (Eden Prarie)
 7A Bruce Plante (Hermantown) Troy Paulseth (William M. Kelly) 
7AA Bruce LaRoque (Grand Rapids) Dick Bartholdi (Cloquet-Esko-Carlton) 
 8A Scott Bergland (Thief River Falls)  Tim Moe (Crookston) 
8AA   Scott Oliver (Roseau)  Gary Clafton (Sartell/Sauk Rapids)

View More