Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

The Battle For The Capital Returns

by Glen Andresen / Minnesota Wild

Last spring, the tiny town of Roseau emerged from a field of 32 Minnesota communities to earn the distinction as the "Capital of the State of Hockey." The home of the Rams will now be charged with holding that title against 32 new competitors in the 2010-2011 Capital of the State of Hockey competition, presented by TRIA Orthopaedic Center.

Like last year, the winner will be entirely up to the fans. Unlike last year, Roseau has a bye all the way to the final, where it will face off against the 2011 winner. 

Many of the same towns and cities that competed last year will get another crack at the title, but five new cities - Genoa, Hallock, Silver Bay, Alexandria and Hermantown - will be in the mix. Based on last year's voting, four cities that received the fewest votes were eliminated. Those were Anoka, Maplewood, Burnsville and St. Cloud.

The first round of voting begins today with the first matchup featuring Cinderella story, Hallock against the Hippodrome heavyweight, Eveleth. The contest will continue through the season until the week of April 4, when the 2011 winner squares off against Roseau.

Now, it's time to have your say and get your community on the hockey map. Click here to cast your vote.

View More