Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Team Darby Takes Bowling Title

by Glen Andresen / Minnesota Wild

The 2010-2011 version of the Minnesota Wild is making a habit of going into opposing buildings, doing work and leaving fans of other teams shaking their heads and cursing at strangers on the way to their cars. Seriously.

I know it's strange for a team that struggled mightily on the road last year to start winning away from Xcel Energy Center habitually, but that's what we're seeing.

And now, the Wild isn't just showing other teams how its done in their hockey arenas. They are taking their show to your local bowling lane and doing their domination there.

Following today's maintenance day at CONSOL Energy Place, the Wild players hopped on a bus and infiltrated a Pittsburgh bowling alley. The players, coaches and a few other hangers on from and Fox Sports North broke into teams of four.

The tournament had all the teams playing two frames, with the teams with the top two combined scores meeting in the finals. After a lot of trash talk and bizarre celebrations, the finalists were determined.

The championship game pitted Team Darby (Darby Hendrickson, Antti Miettinen, Brad Staubitz and FSN's Kevin Gorg) against Team Travis (Massage Therapist Travis Green, Brent Burns, Chuck Kobasew and Marco Scandella).

The finalists started out a little slow through the first couple frames, but then every contestant started heating up and throwing darts. Green rattled off three strikes in a row, but Hendrickson's team started picking up every spare imaginable. It was like two fighters trading blows to the face until the final frame. Green's team started wilting, while Darby's team stayed cool and hammering strikes. When Staubitz closed it out with a team-high score of 188, Team Darby was the champion by a combined score of 636-552.

The individual high is believed to belong to Kyle Brodziak, who broke 200 in the first game.

Fans, here are your 2011 Minnesota Wild Bowling champions:

View More